Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


UAAP 86 WBB: Tacatac sets tone as UST wallops La Salle for share of lead

Tacky Tacatac provided the spark, leading University of Santo Tomas’ dominant 91-57 victory over De La Salle University to remain unblemished in the UAAP Season 86 Women’s Basketball Tournament on Sunday at the UST Quadricentennial Pavilion.

Tacatac, a senior guard who is in her final year, led the Growling Tigresses with 25 points — 17 of which were scored in the first half — alongside three assists and three rebounds.

With Tacatac leading the way, UST sits atop the standings along with University of the Phlippines with identical 3-0 slates.

“This time we started strong in the first quarter and bumaba lang nung second quarter,” said Growling Tigresses head coach Haydee Ong as they have won their first three games with an average margin of 23.3 points per game. “Hopefully, we’ll be consistent na every quarter manalo kami. We’ll play it better.”

Dominant were the Tigresess, racing to a 24-4 start and never looking back.

Come the final frame, Eka Soriano’s three three-pointers along with baskets from Apple Maglupay, Rocel Dionisio, and Brigitte Santos provided the finishing touches for the Growling Tigresses, who led as much as 34 points by the end of the game.

UST’s defense proved to be too much for La Salle. The Growling Tigresses forced the Lady Archers to make 30 turnovers, which gave them 32 points. UST also had 23 fastbreak points compared to La Salle’s six.

“Alam niyo naman I’m a defensive coach kaya naiinis ako kapag hindi sila dumedepensa.. Hopefully, we can sustain in our next game against NU yung depensa namin ang get another win for us,” said Ong.

#ReadMore  Santi Santillan stars anew as Marinerong Pilipino pounds Chadao-FEU for 2nd win

Santos followed Tacatac’s lead by contributing 14 points, six assists, six steals, and five rebounds. Tantoy Ferrer had 11 points and five rebounds, while reigning MVP Eka Soriano produced 11 points and three rebounds. Dionisio also scored 10 points and seized seven rebounds.

Kent Pastrana, who was the UAAP Season 82 Rookie of the Year when she was still with La Salle, had a stunted performance, tallying just two points, three rebounds, and three steals despite averaging 24.0 points, 6.0 rebounds, 3.0 assists, and 2.5 steals prior to the game.

UST will look to win its fourth straight game this Wednesday against defending champion National University in the Adamson Gym at 9 a.m.

Luisa San Juan was the lone bright spot for Lady Archers with 14 points.

On the other hand, La Salle will seek to end its three-game rot when it faces Adamson at the latter’s homecourt this Wednesday at 11 a.m.

The Scores:

UST (91) – Tacatac 25, Santos 14, Ferrer 11, Soriano 11, Dionisio 10, Maglupay 6, Ambos 5, Bron 4, Pastrana 2, Ly 2, Villasin 1, Daganan 0, Serrano 0, Amatong 0.

DLSU (57) – San Juan 14, Binaohan 8, Sario 8, Paraiso 7, Mendoza 6, Dela Paz 4, Dalisay 4, Bojang 4, Delos Reyes 2, Villa-cua 0, Bacierto 0.

Quarterscores: 35-12, 54-36, 70-46, 91-57

Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

You May Also Like


BJ Villarin will not be heading to National University for college. The 5-foot-6 Gilas mainstay has chosen to commit to De La Salle University....

Alas Pilipinas

Owa Retamar hopes that the award he received during the Collegiate Press Corps Awards can inspire the future generation of men’s volleyball players in...


Kevin Quiambao, Kent Pastrana, Bella Belen, and Joshua Retamar will be recognized as the collegiate season’s cream of the crop at the Collegiate Press...


The Collegiate Press Corps (CPC) will honor seven of the best coaches at the collegiate level, including mentors in volleyball and women’s basketball for...


The friendship between Bella Belen and Detdet Pepito, despite their schools’ rivalry from high school extending into college, is one to admire. Belen is...


Nico Almendras will leave National University the way he started – as a champion. The decision to stay for one more year was all...


May 15, 2024, will forever be a special date for National University. Not only did the school win both the UAAP Men’s and Women’s...


University of the Philippines secured a storybook ending to its UAAP Season 86 Men’s Football Tournament campaign by defeating Far Eastern University 1-0 in...