Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times
Photo from NCAA


NCAA opens extraordinary season with stars and schools

There’s no stopping the National Collegiate Athletic Association of the Philippines from putting on a show to open its unique 96th season.

In an hour-long program, the NCAA and its TV partner GMA 7 made sure that the stars came out and shone in its season-opener.

NCAA-Season-96-Opening-Chairman-Fr.-Clarence-Marquez NCAA opens extraordinary season with stars and schools AU CSB CSJL EAC JRU LPU MIT NCAA News SBC SSC-R UPHSD  - philippine sports news

Photo from NCAA

“Our member schools faced difficulties in recovering and continuing. But with the challenges came opportunities and blessings,” said NCAA Season 96 Chairman Fr. Clarence Marquez, OP.

“We have found a new partner, we have found hope with GMA Network and now, we are opening Season 96 in a better and new normal.”

Lani Misalucha opened the ceremony by performing the Lupang Hinirang in a controlled studio in GMA’s headquarters in Kamuning, Quezon City.

Hosts Martin Javier, Sophia Senoron, Gabbi Garcia, and Khalil Ramos served as emcees for the unique celebration of lights and sound.

Aicelle Santos also sang Fight Song to pump up the virtual season that will have virtual chess, poomsae, speedkicking, cheerleading; and basketball and volleyball skills challenges as events.

Jeo Ambohot of Letran led the oath of sportsmanship before talents from GMA led the parade of schools.

NCAA-Season-96-Opening-Management-Committee NCAA opens extraordinary season with stars and schools AU CSB CSJL EAC JRU LPU MIT NCAA News SBC SSC-R UPHSD  - philippine sports news

Photo from NCAA

Host Letran was represented by Mikee Quintos and Radson Flores.

Troy Noriega and Angela Alarcon (Arellano); Kimson Tan and Pam Prinster (College of Saint Benilde); Carlo Tingtungco and Ysabel Ortega (Emilio Aguinaldo College); Kim de Leon and Lexi Gonzales (Jose Rizal University); Brent Valdez and Kylene Alcantara (Lyceum); Gab Yabut and Ayra Mariano (Mapua); Manolo Pedrosa and Crystal Paras (San Beda); Jamir Zabarte and Zonia Mejia (San Sebastian); and Shaira Diaz and Jeremy Sabido (University of Perpetual Help System DALTA) completed the parade of stars and schools.

#ReadMore  Cone sees bright future for TNT: 'They're primed to really step into another level'

The season will begin on June 14-17 with the poomsae events.

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Rain or Shine witnessed a bitter end to its unbeaten start into the 2021 PBA Philippine Cup after absorbing a 48-74 loss to Alaska,...


BACARRA, ILOCOS NORTE — MJ Phillips played huge on the defensive end as Sta. Lucia fended off Chery Tiggo in five sets, 25-20, 25-12,...


San Miguel did not have assistant coach Peter Martin in its 2021 PBA Philippine Cup match versus Blackwater, Wednesday.  According to head coach Leo...


Alaska busted Rain or Shine’s three-game winning streak, 74-48, to end its own skid in the 2021 PBA Philippine Cup Wednesday at the Ynares...


Alex Cabagnot showed yet again why he remains one of the PBA’s top floor generals when San Miguel battled Blackwater, Wednesday. As the Bossing...


San Miguel extended its winning streak to three by adding to Blackwater’s woes, 99-80, in the 2021 PBA Philippine Cup, Wednesday at the Ynares...


PAGADIAN, ZAMBOANGA DEL SUR — MisOr Brew Authoritea conceded all of its remaining games in the 2021 Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup Mindanao Leg,...


BACARRA, ILOCOS NORTE — Petro Gazz ace Grethcel Soltones admitted that she felt very excited to face her former team PLDT on Tuesday night. ...