Connect with us


Yanyan Lariba joins La Salle greats



Tiebreaker Times Yanyan Lariba joins La Salle greats DLSU News Table Tennis UAAP  UAAP Season 81 Women's Table Tennis UAAP Season 81 Ian Lariba DLSU Women's Table Tennis
Photo from Joy Lanting/DLSU OSD

Medals and trophies can be tarnished but a champion always lives on

Two-time UAAP Athlete of the Year and Olympian Yan Lariba posthumously took her place among the very best to ever suit-up for De La Salle University Saturday afternoon as her jersey was retired by the school.

The ceremony was held at the Razon Sports Complex of De La Salle University.

“For as long as there is De La Salle University, Yanyan will be remembered,” said University Chancellor Bro. Bernie Oca, FSC during the event.

Lariba’s family was also in attendance.

During her five-year stay in La Salle, the native of Cagayan de Oro steered the Lady Paddlers to three UAAP Women’s Table Tennis championships, winning three Most Valuable Player plums in the process.

Lariba would then compete in the 2016 Summer Olympics, becoming the first Filipina Table Tennis player to play in the global meet.

At the young age of 23 years old, Lariba passed away after a long battle with Leukemia last September 2.

“Her determination and perseverance are worth emulating for all Lasallian athletes, and all Lasallians,” Oca shared about Lariba.

“That’s why this afternoon, we will make a concrete manifestation of how much we love Yanyan.”

She joins two-time NCAA Seniors Basketball MVP Kurt Bachmann (no. 33), NCAA Season 50 MVP Lim Eng Beng (no. 14), four-time UAAP Men’s Basketball champion Renren Ritualo (no. 4), and UAAP Season 71 Women’s Volleyball MVP Manilla Santos (no. 14) on top of the gym’s rafters.

Unlike the four players, Lariba’s banner won’t have a number as table tennis players do not have jersey numbers. Replacing the number is a table tennis paddle and ball, which will serve as a reminder to everyone that every season from hereon out is For La Salle, Yan.

READ  Perpetual arrests skid, continues Arellano's woes