Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Navy’s Oconer confident in taking Ronda Pilipinas brace

George Oconer of Navy Standard Insurance will shoot for nothing less than a second straight LBC Ronda Pilipinas title as the 11th edition of the 10-stage race unfurls on Friday in Sorsogon City.

“I have a strong chance because we really prepared hard for this Ronda Pilipinas edition,” said the 30-year-old Oconer, who reigned supreme in the last edition of this race two years ago.

Oconer will banner a team skippered by Ronald Oranza and composed of El Joshua Carino, Ronald Lomotos, Junrey Navarra, Jhon Mark Camingao, Esteve Hora, and Jeremy Lizardo.

Oconer admitted though that there would be extra pressure since he would be a marked man following his feat last year.

“There would be added pressure but that’s part of the race,” said Oconer.

Expected to give Oconer a run for his money are two-time champions Santy Barnachea and Jan Paul Morales of Excellent Noodles and the young riders from Go for Gold.

Barnachea and Morales, who have four Ronda titles between themselves, carry with their vast experience and should be the biggest threats to Oconer’s title-retention hopes.

Other teams seeing action are Philippine Army, Team Nueva Ecija, Dreyna, Eagle Cement, Champ Café, Bike Kings Laguna, Vantage Ilocos Norte, VPharma, Team Quezon Province and Team Ilocos Sur.

Up for grabs is a total cash pot worth P3.5 million including P1 million to the individual champion and P200,000 to the team titlist courtesy of LBC Express, Inc., MVP Sports Foundation, Quad X, Twin Cycle Gear, Standard Insurance, Print2Go, Elves Bicycles, Elitewheels, Orome, Maynilad, PhilHydro, and Garmin.

#ReadMore  Overconfident Rondina absorbs blame for opening day loss

Petron, Boy Kanin, Green Planet Bikeshop, Prolite, Fujiwara, Black Mamba, Lightwater, and LBC Foundation are also backing the event along with PhilCycling and the Games and Amusements Board.

The race opens with the Stage One Individual Time Trial and Team Time Trial both set tomorrow in Sorsogon followed by the 163-kilometer Sorsogon-Legazpi City Stage Three Saturday and the 189.1km Legazpi-Daet Stage Four on Sunday.

It will be followed by the 212km Daet-Lucena Stage Five Monday and 157.4km Lucena-Tagaytay Stage Six Tuesday.

It will take a one-day respite the next day and will wind up with the 180.4km Tarlac-Baler Stage Seven on March 17; 174.4km Baler-Echgue, Isabela Stage Eight on March 18; 193.2km Santiago; Isabela-Baguio Stage Nine on March 19; and Baguio City Stage 10 criterium on March 20.

Written By

You May Also Like


Ronald Lomotos of Navy Standard Insurance used the 10th and final stage as a victory ride on Sunday to crown himself the champion of...


Ronald Lomotos of Navy Standard Insurance delivered the race of his life as he topped the tough Stage Nine on Saturday to snatch the...


Ronald Oranza of Navy Standard Insurance stuck to Jan Paul Morales of Excellent Noodles like a leech in Stage Eight to keep a firm...


Ryan Tugawin of Excellent Noodles topped Stage Seven to storm back to the top 10 even as Ronald Oranza of Navy Standard Insurance fended...


Ronald Oranza of Navy Standard Insurance unleashed his dormant mountain-climbing skills as he topped Stage Six to wrest the overall individual lead from Jonel...


Jonel Carcueva of Go for Gold came through with a ride of his life as he finished seventh in Stage Five to supplant Jan...


Defending champion George Oconer and 2018 winner Ronald Oranza of Navy Standard Insurance made their presences felt after a slow start and bounced back...


Aidan Mendoza of Go for Gold delivered his first lap victory in his young career even as Jan Paul Morales of Excellent Noodles clung...