Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Louie Sangalang tows KL past San Beda in AsiaBasket Final

Louie Sangalang continues to collect championships before heading to the 2023 PBA Rookie Draft.

The Colegio de San Juan de Letran bruiser powered Kuala Lumpur to an 83-72 win over San Beda University-Machateam in the final of the 2023 Sportsclick AsiaBasket International Championship, Tuesday at MABA Stadium in Malaysia.

Sangalang, who is also a three-time NCAA champion and part of PSL champion team Pampanga, tallied 10 points, eight rebounds, five blocks, and a steal to keep the crown in home turf.

Down by 22 to end the opening frame, the Aseel slowly chipped into the lead before gaining a 58-52 lead heading into the final frame.

The Aseel threatened to pull away after opening the final quarter on a 10-2 run for a 68-54 lead with 7:23 to go.

The Red Lions, however, mounted a comeback attempt especially when coach Kris Reyes gave Jalen Robinson a momentary breather, cutting the lead down to just seven, 70-63, with four and a half minutes to play.

KL eventually pulled away after going on another 10-2 run capped by dagger triples from Robinson and Sangalang for an 80-65 cushion with 1:30 remaining.

Robinson led the Aseel with 31 points, 21 rebounds, four assists, and four steals, capping a dominating performance all tournament long worthy of the Most Valuable Player award.

Wee Yong Gan contributed 23 points, one rebound, three assists, and one block for KL.

Jacob Cortez, who was also named to the First Team, led San Beda-Machateam with 19 points on five triples, five rebounds, six assists, and two steals.

Yukien Andrada and Damie Cuntapay each added 14 markers with Andrada also grabbing 11 caroms for the double-double.

#ReadMore  UP, Mapua compose Filoil Group A, Letran, La Salle headline second group

In the third-place game, Harimau Malaysia weathered a late comeback from College of Saint Benilde to prevail, 93-84, in a game marred by controversy.

The Scores:

Battle for Third
Harimau Malaysia 93 – Y. Wong 26, Ting 16, Mahadevan 13, J. Wong 9, Lee 7, Liew 6, Teo 5, Kuek 3, Ong 3, Lim 3, Dee 2, Heng 0
CSB 84 – Carlos 21, Nayve 19, Corteza 13, Liwag 10, Turco 7, Oczon 6, Sumabat 3, Serrano 2, Marcos 2, Marasigan 1, Cajucom 0, Mara 0
Quarterscores: 31-9, 48-31, 72-58, 93-84

Kuala Lumpur 83 – Robinson 31, Wee 23, Sangalang 10, Tan Goh 9, J. Gan 6, Soong 2, Yap 2, Kwan 0, Tan 0
San Beda-Machateam 72 – Cortez 19, Cuntapay 14, Andrada 14, Alfaro 11, Gallego 6, Puno 2, Tagle 2, Visser 2, Jopia 2, Llarena 0, Cometa 0, Royo 0
Quarterscores: 10-32, 36-46, 58-82, 83-72

Written By

You May Also Like


National University has found a ready-made replacement for Kean Baclaan, while also adding to its stockpile of athletic and versatile wings. The Bulldogs have...


Marinerong Pilipino-San Beda dominated CCI-Yengskivel, 126-76, seizing a share of the lead in the 2024 PBA D-League Aspirants’ Cup on Thursday at the Ynares...

3x3 Basketball

Gilas Pilipinas Women were clearly superior in the main draw of the FIBA 3×3 Asia Cup 2024. The Philippines easily defeated Mongolia (19-8) and...


Collegiate champions La Salle-Ecooil and Marinerong Pilipino-San Beda continued to dominate the competition in the 2024 PBA D-League Aspirants’ Cup at the Ynares Sports...


For the second straight year, University of Santo Tomas is heading to the 2024 Smart-NBTC National Finals presented by SM Supermalls, while University of...


Defending champion La Salle-Ecooil and last year’s runner-up Marinerong Pilipino-San Beda got off to flying starts to open their respective campaigns in the 2023...


Reigning champion La Salle-Ecooil and favored Marinerong Pilipino-San Beda loom as heavy favorites as they kick off the 2024 PBA D-League Aspirants’ Cup against...


Reigning champion La Salle-Ecooil and Marinerong Pilipino-San Beda lead the six-team field cast in the 2024 PBA D-League Aspirants’ Cup, set to commence on...