Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


George Oconer clinches Ronda Pilipinas title

BAGUIO CITY — George Oconer of Standard Insurance-Navy stuck with the 10-man group that checked in first in Stage Eight to virtually clinch the title, in the LBC Ronda Pilipinas 10th anniversary race at the Burnham Park on Monday.

Oconer, 28, was one of the six Standard riders who were in the lead pack headed by Go for Gold’s Daniel Ven Carino, who topped the grueling 170.6km Palayan-Baguio stage. He clocked in at four hours, 30 minutes and four seconds.

Marvin Tapic of Bicycology-Army finished in second, while Jonel Carcueva of Go for Gold third in the stage of this race presented by LBC and backed by the Manny V. Pangilinan Sports Foundation.

The effort kept Oconer well-entrenched at the helm with an aggregate time of 27:34:35 ahead of Standard teammates Ronald Oranza (27:35:50); Ronald Lomotos (27:35:53); John Mark Camingao (27:36:28); Junrey Navarra (27:36:52); and El Joshua Carino (27:38:26).

It also reduced the final two stages — the 176.4km Pugo, La Union-Vigan Stage Nine, and the Vigan Stage 10 criterium — to his coronation ride.

Oconer thus ended his long search for the crown after finishing third in the inaugural edition in 2011 and second in 2015.

And the Navymen did everything to protect Oconer, who saw a threat while cruising to the finish line. There, they were met with cheers from the appreciative crowd that included host Mayor Benjamin Magalong.

“I’m thankful for my teammates for helping me. We treat each other as brothers,” said Oconer.

While the top six in the individual general classification remained unperturbed, there were some changes in the seventh to 10th place. Former leader Mark Julius Bordeos of Bicycology and Rustom Lim of 7Eleven Cliqq-Air21 by Roadbike Philippines slipped out from the pack.

#ReadMore  Army ends dry spell against Air Force

Carcueva moved from ninth to seventh in 27:39:59; Carino zoomed from 12th to eighth in 27:40:21; Grospe leaped from 10th to ninth in 27:40:23; while Tapic barged into No. 10 from 20th in 27:42:55.

Standard had also claimed the team crown, its sixth straight, days before while holding on to the CCN sprint (Jan Paul Morales) and Versa King of the Mountain (Carino).

The only category that didn’t go Standard’s way was the MVPSF Best Under-23 rider, which is being contested by Carino, Grospe and another Go for Gold bet Jericho Jay Lucero.

This event, which stakes P1 million the individual champion, is being backed by Palayan, Nueva Ecija, Versa, 8A Performance, Print2Go, Petron, Green Planet, Bike Xtreme, Standard Insurance, Spyder, CCN, Lightwater, Prolite, Guerciotti, Black Mamba, Boy Kanin, Vitamin Boost, NLEX-SCTEX, Maynilad, 3Q Sports Event Management Inc., LBC Foundation and PhilCycling.

Written By

You May Also Like


Ryan Tugawin of Excellent Noodles topped Stage Seven to storm back to the top 10 even as Ronald Oranza of Navy Standard Insurance fended...


Ronald Oranza of Navy Standard Insurance unleashed his dormant mountain-climbing skills as he topped Stage Six to wrest the overall individual lead from Jonel...


Jonel Carcueva of Go for Gold came through with a ride of his life as he finished seventh in Stage Five to supplant Jan...


Defending champion George Oconer and 2018 winner Ronald Oranza of Navy Standard Insurance made their presences felt after a slow start and bounced back...


Aidan Mendoza of Go for Gold delivered his first lap victory in his young career even as Jan Paul Morales of Excellent Noodles clung...


George Oconer of Navy Standard Insurance will shoot for nothing less than a second straight LBC Ronda Pilipinas title as the 11th edition of...


Youth-laden Go for Gold seeks to challenge the cream of the crop of Philippine cycling as it sees action in the 10-stage LBC Ronda...


LBC Ronda Pilipinas will hold its 11th edition with 13 teams seeing action in the 10-stage race unfurling in Sorsogon City on March 11...