Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

2019 SEA Games

Baas strike not enough as Azkals fall to Myanmar in SEA Games Men’s Football

A fantastic goal from Justin Baas proved to be nothing more than a mere footnote, as the Philippine Under-22 Men’s National Football team suffered defeat for the first time in the Men’s Football Tournament in the 2019 SEA Games.

Hoping to build on their opening day draw against Cambodia, the Azkals instead suffered a 1-2 defeat, Wednesday night at the historic Rizal Memorial Stadium in Manila. The result leaves the Filipinos with one point in Group A, while Myanmar now has 4.

Substitute forward Win Naing Tun finished a perfectly executed counter-attack. He outsmarted the Philippines backline to shoot past Azkals stopper Anthony Pinthus at the 79th minute to win the game. It was a just reward for Myanmar, while they held the home side well in the hopes of landing a sucker punch.

Stephan Schrock, Azkals skipper, said, “The coaching staff will surely address some things to us. I’m not sure why, what happened, but that’s football. We had our opportunities in those dominant thirty to thirty-five minutes in the second half to score, to get in front. But to run after a result is always difficult.

It was a frustrating affair for the Azkals and the 3,000 fans in attendance, since the outcome came on the back of Baas’ superb goal. The 19-year-old latched on Dennis Chung’s pass to shoot past Myanmar stopper Sann Sat Naing, drawing things level in first half stoppage time.

The strike was the perfect response for the Philippines after falling behind after just 17 minutes of play. Defender Amani Aguinaldo and Pinthus’ miscue had allowed Aung Kaung Mann to give his side first blood.

The Philippines aims to bounce back when it takes on Malaysia on November 29, 2018, 8:00 PM. On the other hand, Myanmar plays Timor Lester earlier on the same date at 4:00 PM. Both games shall be played at the same venue.

Philippines XI: Pinthus (GK), Chung, Uzoka, Baas, Gallantes, Aguinaldo, Gayoso, Diano, Bugas, Schrock ©, Rontini.

Myanmar XI: Sann Sat Naing (GK), Htet Phyoe Wai, Aung Naing Win, Aung Kaung Mann, Aung Wunna Soe, Myat Kaung Khant, Lwin Moe Aung, Hlaing Bo Bo ©, Ye Ting Aung, Soe Moe Kyaw, Ye Min Thu.

Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


CARMONA, CAVITE — In a fiercely-contested fixture to kick off the 2020 Philippines Football League sponsored by Qatar Airways, United City emerged victorious with...


CARMONA, CAVITE — Surrounded by familiar and talented faces, United City skipper Stephan Schrock feels confident that his club will sustain the winning legacy...

2019 SEA Games

The Philippine Southeast Asian Games Organizing Committee (PHISGOC) assured that its financial report on the 30th SEA Games was on the verge of completion...


Another Filipino football player is set to try his luck in one of the top leagues within the region. Justin Baas, a 20-year-old Filipino-Dutch...