Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


UCBL remain committed to hold Season 5 this academic year

Universities and Colleges Basketball League (UCBL) President Franklin Evidente said on Monday that they remain committed to staging the league’s fifth season either late this year or early next year amid the global economic impact of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

We are continually planning and exploring ways to restart our league under the new normal,” said the amiable chief executive.

“Whether it will be late this year or early 2021, the UCBL is committed to open our Season Five on national television.”

Evidente said they have thoroughly studied the guidelines crafted by members of the Inter-Agency Task Force, and the league fully supports the protocols for the safety of everybody concerned.

Aside from commitment and patience, discipline and cooperation of all sectors in these trying times are very important if the country is to beat the virus that has put almost everything on hold for the past three months.

“There are so many challenges right now, but the league is confident that with everyone’s cooperation, our nation will overcome this health crisis,” said Evidente.

Though saddened that one member school may not be able to take part in Season 5, as Technological Institute of the Philippines has withdrawn, Evidente said they have been in constant communication with other member-schools since the suspension of classes in early March.

He said all other schools have maintained their teams, and have in fact engaged in online drills and workouts to keep their players in shape.

“This shows the continuing commitment of the UCBL member schools in preserving sports as an equally valuable component of education besides academics,” said Evidente.

Besides reigning champion Diliman College, other members are inaugural champion Centro Escolar University, Olivarez College, University of Batangas, Lyceum of the Philippines-Batangas, National College of Business Administration, and Philippine Christian College-Dasmarinas.

#ReadMore  Lyceum keeps perfect record intact
Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Jeff Napa has passed the head coaching duties of Centro Escolar University to the person he trusts the most — Chico Manabat.  In a...


The PBA Board of Governors is set to convene in August to determine whether or not Season 45 will resume as the league continues...


With 11 of its 12 teams being school-based squads, the PBA D-League will wait for the return plans of the UAAP and the NCAA...


One does not simply forget a coach who brought a terribly undermanned team all the way to the Finals.  That’s how Derrick Pumaren’s stint...


Builders Warehouse-UST cruised to its second win in the 2020 PBA D-League Aspirants’ Cup with a 106-93 trouncing of Diliman College, Monday at the...


NAGA CITY — University of the Philippines capped its three-game sweep of the PCCL Luzon Regional Championship with a 78-75 conquest of Diliman College,...


Twelve is the final count of teams that will wage war in the 2020 PBA D-League Aspirants’ Cup, which will start on February 13. ...


Centro Escolar University is eyeing Jeff Napa as the man to lead the Scorpions moving forward. Multiple sources closely monitoring the situation have confirmed...