Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


UAAP king Ateneo whips NCAA champ Letran, sweeps PCCL group

In a battle of two of the country’s top collegiate squads, UAAP kingpin Ateneo stamped its class over NCAA counterpart Letran, 79-61, in the 2019 PCCL: UAAP-NCAA Challenge, Saturday at the Filoil Flying Centre.

It was another dominant outing for the Blue Eagles, who swept the tournament, beginning with an 83-69 win over San Beda followed by an 82-71 win over UST.

This time around, Ateneo utilized a huge third quarter surge to blow out Letran.

Knotted at 35-all, the Blue Eagles unleashed a 20-0 burst powered by Dwight Ramos and Troy Mallillin. Letran’s sole bucket in the quarter came courtesy of Christian Fajarito with 2:14 left in the frame.

“We just talked about [how] we didn’t have a good start, we didn’t do a great job early on. Dwight alone had five turnovers. Those things, it’s not gonna lead to success. So we had to tighten up a lot of variables and we did that,” said Blue Eagles head coach Tab Baldwin.

Ateneo would lead by as much as 31 points, 71-40, with 7:19 left in the game.

Ramos and Mallillin led Ateneo with 16 markers each, while combining for 13 boards.

SJ Belangel, who averaged 25.5 points prior to this game, was limited to just 10 points in just 13 minutes of game time.

“Players playing consistently and the team doing things we believe will lead us to success,” added Baldwin.

On the other hand, Pao Javillonar and Fajarito were the sole bright spots of Letran. The former finished with a team-high 15 points to go along with seven rebounds, while the latter added 10 markers.

#ReadMore  Justine Baltazar shines in La Salle's rout of Nagoya Gakuin

Letran went winless in the competition.

Ateneo will next face the winner of the PCCL Escandor Cup on March 7 at Ynares Pasig.

The Scores:

ADMU 79 — D. Ramos 16, Mallillin 16, Belangel 10, Credo 8, Daves 6, Fornilos 6, Kouame 5, Tio 5, Navarro 4, Mamuyac 2, E. Ramos 1, Chiu 0, P. Maagdenberg 0, Berjay 0, E. Maagdenberg 0.

CSJL 61 — Javillonar 15, Fajarito 10, Yu 9, Brutas 6, Mina 5, Pambid 5, Guarino 5, Rocacurva 4, Reyson 2, Ambohot 0, Banez 0.

Quarterscores: 11-16, 35-35, 65-39, 79-61.

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Angelo Kouame had earlier confessed that several teams from Asia, Europe, and the G League have already inquired about his service. But there’s an...

2020 Tokyo Olympics

The International Basketball Federation (FIBA) has cleared Angelo Kouame to join Gilas Pilipinas in the Clark window of the 2021 FIBA Asia Cup Qualifiers. ...

2020 Tokyo Olympics

Dwight Ramos has been the most consistent player for Gilas Pilipinas for the entire 2021 FIBA Asia Cup Qualifiers. The 6-foot-4 utility player has...

2021 FIBA Asia Cup

SJ Belangel and RJ Abarrientos have both played for Gilas before, but under different circumstances. Belangel, a 6-foot floor general, was a mainstay in...

2020 Tokyo Olympics

Matt Nieto has been sidelined after sustaining a broken hand during one of Gilas Pilipinas’ practice sessions in Inspire Sports Academy. Along with Dave...


Kapatagan, a province in Lanao Del Norte, has signed up to play in the 2021 Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup’s Mindanao Leg, becoming the...


Ange Kouame is open to the idea of playing basketball overseas, believing that it would help him grow and broaden his knowledge of the...


Despite acquiring Filipino citizenship, the University Athletic Association of the Philippines will not classify Angelo Kouame as a local. The UAAP’s Board of Managing...