Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Rebisco-PSL Manila brace for 2017 AVC AWCC

Rebisco-PSL Manila left for Ust-Kamenogorsk in Kazakhstan on Sunday night, with hopes of springing a surprise in the prestigious 2017 AVC Asian Women’s Club Championship.

Seasoned international campaigner Rachel Daquis banners this collection of PSL stars, who are looking to surpass the seventh-place finish of Foton Pilipinas when the country hosted the tournament last year.

Daquis is joined by Jovelyn Gonzaga of Cignal; Aiza Maizo-Pontillas, Rhea Dimaculangan, Mika Reyes, and Ces Molina of Petron; Aby Marano of F2 Logistics; Denden Lazaro of Cocolife; Kim Fajardo of F2 Logistics; Jaja Santiago of Foton; Gen Casugod and Bia General of Generika-Ayala; and Lourdes Clemente of Sta. Lucia. Women’s volleyball national team head coach Francis Vicente will serve as the team’s head coach.

They will be marching without an import, but team manager Anna Tomas believes this squad is capable of stunning the other clubs in its pool, namely Hisamitsu Springs of Japan, Tianjin Bohai Bank of China, and VietinBank of Vietnam.

“This is the best team we ever formed for the AWCC,” said Tomas shortly after the squad embarked on a 15-hour flight to Istanbul, a four-hour flight to Almaty, and another two-hour travel to Ust-Kamenogorsk in northern Kazakhstan.

In addition, PSL president Ramon Suzara stressed that the players should use this experience as preparation for the AVC Asian Senior Women’s Championship and the 29th Southeast Asian Games.

Vicente, on the other hand, said winning the crown is a tough task, but at least they should be able to beat Vietnam and keep the scores very close against Hisamitsu Springs and Tianjin Bohai Bank.

#ReadMore  Shintarou fires 37 as E-Gilas gets back at E-Boomers

VietinBank is reportedly coming in without an import as well and will parade the core of its national team, while majority of the players from Hisamitsu Springs are fresh from seeing action in the FIVB Women’s Club World Championship in Kobe, Japan.

Written By

Miguel Luis Flores fell face first into sports writing in high sch9l and has never gotten up. He reluctantly stumbled into the volleyball beat when he started with Tiebreaker Times three years ago. Now, he has waded through everything volleyball - from its icky politics to the post-modern art that is Jia Morado's setting.

You May Also Like

2024 AVC Challenge Cup for Women

Jaja Santiago is confident that Alas Pilipinas Women have what it takes to conquer the 2024 AVC Challenge Cup. Santiago, who is currently undergoing...


Back on April 22, 2018, Jaja Santiago left the SM Mall of Asia Arena in heartbreak. Santiago, then just 22 years old, ended her...


Alyssa Solomon and Jaja Santiago had a moment after National University advanced to the UAAP Season 86 Women’s Volleyball Finals last Wednesday. Following the...


In her very first stint in the Premier Volleyball League, Brooke Van Sickle shone the brightest, winning the 2024 All-Filipino Conference Most Valuable Player...


May 5, 2024, was a testament to how far Philippine volleyball has come in recent years. On a Sunday when both the Premier Volleyball...


Choco Mucho denied Petro Gazz a playoff for the last final spot after taking a four-set, 23-25, 26-24, 25-19, 25-20 victory to enter the...


Creamline became the first team to enter the finals after sweeping Chery Tiggo, 25-16, 25-21, 25-20, in the round-robin semifinals of the 2024 Premier...


Jema Galanza took over in the clutch as Creamline bounced back, taking down Petro Gazz in a tight four-set showdown, 27-25, 23-25, 27-25, 26-24,...