The PBA is set to review an apparent non-call late in Magnolia’s close win over San Miguel in the Season 48 Commissioner’s Cup on Sunday night.
The Hotshots hacked out the 94-90 victory to go 7-0 and send their rivals to a two-game skid, but what the Beermen officials clearly didn’t like the most was the eight-second backcourt violation that the referees appeared to have missed.
It happened inside the last 1:20 of the game and Magnolia, then holding on to a 90-85 lead, struggled to get past the swarming defense of the opposition.
Based on replays, Jio Jalalon was not able to get the ball past the midcourt line in time, with the shot clock already at the 16-second mark.
FIBA rules though state that the clock has to hit 15 seconds (15.9) for a backcourt violation to be called.
The SMB bench was livid with what they saw, though the team still managed to fight back by closing within two twice. They just couldn’t get it done, however.
As it does with all games, the league’s Commissioner’s Office will put the game under review and take another look at that particular incident.
A decision will then be made based on the findings.
San Miguel head coach Jorge Gallent respectfully declined to comment about the matter as he left the Philsports Arena shortly after the defeat, which dropped their win-loss record to 3-3. They’re presently at sixth in the standings.