Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Oftana is NCAA 95 MVP, Tankoua and Nzeusseu given ‘Best Foreign Player’ plums

Calvin Oftana’s breakout season will be rewarded.

San Beda’s utility forward will be crowned as the NCAA Season 95 Seniors Basketball Most Valuable Player after accumulating 51.56 Player Average Value, built on averages of 15.6 points, 8.2 rebounds, 2.7 assists, and 1.2 blocks.

He becomes the eighth Red Lion to win the top individual prize in the Grand Old League after Charles Borck (1936), Arturo Ruis (1940), Caloy Loyzaga (1951, 52), Alberto Reynoso (1959), Antonio Valeriano (1991), Sam Ekwe (2006), and Sudan Daniel (2010).

Joining Oftana in the All-NCAA team are teammates Evan Nelle (45.39 PAV) and James Canlas (45.33). Completing the team are San Sebastian’s Allyn Bulanadi (45.28) and Lyceum’s Jaycee Marcelino (43.94).

NCAA-95-SBU-DEF-EAC-TANKOUA Oftana is NCAA 95 MVP, Tankoua and Nzeusseu given 'Best Foreign Player' plums AU Basketball CSJL EAC LPU NCAA News SBC SSC-R UPHSD  - philippine sports news

Surprisingly, San Beda big man Donald Tankoua should have been the fourth Bedan in the Mythical Team after accumulating 45.28 PAVs. The league, however, decided to award a separate citation for foreign student-athletes. Instead, the Cameroonian will receive the Best Foreign Player plum.

And with the league banning FSAs starting next season, Tankoua will be the first and last recipient of the award unless something changes.

It will be the same for the All-Defensive Team.

NCAA-95-LPU-vs.-CSB-Nzeusseu-0779 Oftana is NCAA 95 MVP, Tankoua and Nzeusseu given 'Best Foreign Player' plums AU Basketball CSJL EAC LPU NCAA News SBC SSC-R UPHSD  - philippine sports news
Despite leading the league in defensive statistics with 10.79 PAVs, Lyceum’s Mike Nzeusseu will not be part of the team. The All-Defensive Team will be composed of Arellano’s Justin Arana (10.78), Perpetual’s Ben Adamos (10.72), EAC’s JP Maguliano (10.06), Oftana (9.89), and San Sebastian’s JM Calma (9.39).

Nzeusseu, a Cameroonian, will instead receive the Best Defensive Foreign Player commendation.

Arana, a former UST Growling Tiger, will be hailed as the Rookie of the Year (35.5).

#ReadMore  NU taps Goldwin Monteverde as Bulldogs head coach

Closing out this season’s honor roll is Letran’s Fran Yu, who will be awarded with the Most Improved Player. After ranking 93rd in the PAV race last season, Yu rose to 19th this year.

Written By

You May Also Like


Evan Nelle is set to finish his collegiate career against a familiar rival. After steering De La Salle to a dominant 97-73 triumph over...


TNT came out of the break firing and never let up to snap Terrafirma’s two-game winning streak, 133-93, for back-to-back victories in the PBA...


Despite being eliminated from what could have been its first Final Four in NCAA Seniors Basketball Tournament history, Emilio Aguinaldo College entered its final...


De La Salle University managed to extend its winning streak to eight games in another epic clash with arch-rival Ateneo de Manila University, which...


With both the University of Perpetual Help System DALTA and Emilio Aguinaldo College fighting to keep their Final Four dreams alive in the NCAA...


Tony Bishop fit in like a glove as Ginebra added to the woes of Converge, 100-86, for a victorious start to their PBA Commissioner’s...


Jericho Cruz, Roi Sumang, and Justin Arana will take center stage at the PBA Press Corps Awards Night on Nov. 20 at Novotel Manila...


De La Salle University needed a huge fourth quarter to shrug off also-ran Far Eastern University, 80-70, and stay alive for a playoff incentive...