Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


NU Lady Bulldogs’ reign continues, tie UE Warriors’ UAAP basketball record

The fabled winning streak may have ended but the epic championship run of National University continues.

The Lady Bulldogs asserted their dominance over De La Salle University in Game Two, 76-64, to sweep the UAAP Season 85 women’s basketball Finals.

They collected their seventh straight title, Sunday at the SM Mall of Asia Arena.

NU won the two games with a whopping 22-point average after winning 93-61 in Game One.

UAAP-85-WBB-Finals-G2-NU-vs.-DLSU-1166 NU Lady Bulldogs' reign continues, tie UE Warriors' UAAP basketball record Basketball DLSU News NU UAAP  - philippine sports news

The Lady Bulldogs have tied University of the East men’s team for most consecutive basketball championships, which they recorded back in Seasons 28 to 34. The Red Warriors were co-champions with University of Santo Tomas in Season 30.

“The credit goes to all our girls. From Day 1, they committed. I’m glad each and every one of us did our share and nanalo kami,” said first-year NU head coach Aris Dimaunahan.

Ameng Torres was on fire to start the match with nine straight points to trail by just three early, 9-12. But Lady Bulldogs Tin Cayabyab, Angel Surada, and Mikka Cacho joined hands to stretch their lead to 16 at the end of the first, 27-11.

And that was all NU needed to break away and deny all the Lady Archers’ attempts to claw back.

Rookie Tin Cayabyab was hailed Finals MVP after averaging 12.5 points, 5.5 rebounds, 2.5 steals, and 1.5 assists in the series. That also included 18 points and five rebounds in the clincher.

“Isa sa hindi ko makakalimutan na nangyari this season is yung natalo kami against La Salle. Doon kami mas nagtulungan para makuha itong championship na ito. Mas naging together kami,” said Cayabyab.

#ReadMore  Debut performance for Gilas was Brownlee's gift for fellow Filipinos

It was a fitting end to Cacho and Annick Edimo Tiky’s run with the Lady Bulldogs.

Surada had 10 points and nine rebounds, while Edimo Tiky got nine points.

Meanwhile, Ameng Torres, Joehanna Arciga, Rossini Espinas, and Fina Niantcho Tchuido have played their final game for the Lady Archers.

UAAP-85-WBB-Finals-G2-NU-vs.-DLSU-Kristine-Cayabyab-0390 NU Lady Bulldogs' reign continues, tie UE Warriors' UAAP basketball record Basketball DLSU News NU UAAP  - philippine sports news

Torres gave it all with 29 points, seven rebounds, and five assists but committed 11 turnovers.

Niantcho Tchuido produced 13 points, 22 rebounds, four assists, and three blocks.

The Scores:

NU 76 — Cayabyab 18, Surada 10, Edimo Tiky 9, Clarin 8, Cacho 6, Pingol 6, Bartolo 5, Canuto 4, Fabruada 4, Villareal 4, Betanio 2, Solis 0, Barroquillo 0, Dimaunahan 0, Ico 0.

La Salle 64 –– Torres 29, Niantcho Tchuido 13, Arciga 8, Sario 7, Binaohan 5, De La Paz 2, Jimenez 2, Ahmed 2.

Quarterscores: 27-11, 42-27, 61-40, 76-64.

Written By

Just a kid from Cavite trying to make a difference.

You May Also Like

19th Asian Games

If Gilas Men is having a tough time with its roster for the 19th Asian Games, imagine the challenges Gilas Women are facing on...


Five Falcons from Adamson University proved that despite being athletes, they can also excel as students. Jasmine Remolino, who competed in the shot put...


A new batch of Blue Eagles is set to go down from the hills of Loyola Heights. Angelo Kouame, Geo Chiu, Jason Credo, Jacob...

2024 Summer Olympics

A couple of blue-bloods will make their national team debut in the 2023 FIBA Women’s Asia Cup. Duke’s Vanessa de Jesus and Ateneo’s Jhazmin...


Ateneo de Manila University expressed regret over its failure to mount a successful title defense for the first time since Season 68, following a...


De La Salle University witnessed its campaign in the UAAP Season 85 Women’s Football Tournament end in heartbreak. The Taft school was dethroned in...


For the fifth straight season, University of Santo Tomas (UST) clinched the overall championships in both the collegiate and high school divisions of the...


Katrina Magbitang achieved something that only a few athletes can boast of in the UAAP – earning the Most Valuable Player Award in her...