Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Mohamad Pare tows Saint Clare to 2nd straight win; RTU gives NTC rude welcome

Defending champions Saint Clare College of Caloocan Saints grabbed their second straight win by downing the Philippine Merchant Marine School Mariners, 81-76, at the 18th National Athletic Association of Schools, Colleges and Universities presented by Bitcoin Cash last Thursday at the Rizal Technological University Gym.

Forward Junjie Hallare dropped eight of his 18 points in a pivotal third period run that put the Saints comfortably ahead, 66-53.

The Mariners would recover and close the gap, 74-78, but this was defused by a basket from Mohamad Pare followed by a free throw split by Irven Palencia with four seconds to go, 81-74.

Home team Rizal Technological University Blue Thunder also welcomed newcomers National Teachers College Blue Bearers into the league with a clinical 104-57 drubbing.

RTU bucked a slow start but once they got their scoring going five minutes into the game, a barrage of triples and tight defense led to their breakaway for good.

Kim Herbert Reyes and Baron Ronquillo led Blue Thunder’s charge with 12 points each, while Warren Sienes chipped in 11.

The De La Salle Araneta University Stallions and the City University of Pasay Green Eagles likewise recovered from their opening day setbacks to barge into the win column.

The Stallions of La Salle clipped the Manuel L. Quezon University Stallions, 79-75, while the Green Eaglse stopped the Holy Angel University Flyers, 84-81.

MLQU had no solution for DLSAU’s 6-foot-10 Nigerian behemoth Henry Iloka who exploded for 25 points, 13 rebounds and six blocks. He was ably supported by Julius Felix Lorenzo with 18 and Jonas Briones with 14 markers respectively.

#ReadMore  Melissa Gohing, Rocco Nacino tie the knot

The CUP Eagles led for majority of the game but needed to convert pressure-packed free throws at crunch time. Jayvee de la Cruz paced the Eagles with 20 points, six rebounds and six assists followed by John Patrick Aquino with 17 points and nine rebounds.

The 18th NAASCU returns to action with five Seniors games on Saturday, still at RTU.

Opening day winners New Era University Hunters and De Ocampo Memorial College Cobras tangle at 12:30 PM, with the expected shootout between scoring machines Jeff Comia of NEU and the debuting Dahrrel Caranguian of DOMC.

The Scores:

First Game

Pasay 84 – de la Cruz 20, Aquino 17, Palmenco 12, Padilla 10, Gatchalian 7, K Villagomez 7, Condada 4, Polintan 2, Celestino 2, C Villagomez 2, Catarbas 2, Castaneda 0, Acidre 0, Escabarte 0.

Holy Angel 81 – Candelaria 20, Tungcul 20, Pacoma 18, Nacu 8, Patawaran 5, N Luna 5, Oderinde 4, F Luna 1, Tulud 0, Ocampo 0, Santiago 0, Halili 0, Dizon 0, Lopez 0.

Quarterscores: 21-15, 41-27, 62-57, 85-81.

Second Game

DLS-A 79 – Iloka 25, Lorenzo 18, Briones 14, Batungbakal 9, Aquino 5, Badillo 3, de la Torre 3, Batan 2, Esteban 0, Bautista 0, Albajera 0, del Rosario 0, Correche 0, Pena 0.

MLQU 75 – Sual 14, Peralta 13, Pastor 11, Alimasa 9, Zulueta 9, Gula 8, Fabila 4, Llorente 3, Teobengco 2, Jamila 2, Hermoso 0, Chan 0.

Quarterscores: 23-8, 34-34, 56-47, 79-75.

Third Game

St. Clare 81 – Hallare 18, Pare 17, Santos 11, Fontanilla 10, Fuentes 9, Penaredondo 5, Rebugio 4, Palencia 3, de Leon 2, Joven 2, Catura 0, Tecson 0, Decano 0.

#ReadMore  Chris Bitoon, Gamboa-St. Clare fend off Wang's-Letran to complete playoff picture

PMMS 76 – Hilario 25, Attas 22, Briones 14, Cabauatan 6, Carvajal 4, Palomares 4, Carampatan 1, Inigo 0, Bautista 0.

Quarterscores: 21-15, 43-35, 66-53, 81-76.

Fourth Game

RTU 104 – Ronquillo 12, Reyes 12, Sienes 11, Flor 9, Estoce 9, Teofilo 9, Torre 9, Tilos 6, Asuncion 6, Redondo 4, Calapine 4, Casitas 4, Quibuyen 4, Laman 3, Flores 2, Guting 0.

NTC 57 – Sabert 16, Baluyot 14, Calinao 12, Villamater 8, Andrade 5, Sising 2, Villavelez 0, Narciso 0, Omega 0, Paladio 0, Mendoza 0.

Quarterscores: 19-13, 44-30, 80-43, 104-57.

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


St. Clare College of Caloocan’s Mohamed Pare has been tapped by Mali to be part of its pool for the 2021 FIBA Afrobasket Qualifiers....


Coming off a rough 2018-19 MPBL Datu Cup campaign, Basilan Steel-Jumbo Plastic has nowhere to go but up, with the help of Phenom Sports,...


Saint Clare College of Caloocan earned its fourth consecutive Seniors Division championship after it defeated Enderun Colleges, 70-64, in Game Three of the 19th...


When BRT Sumisip Basilan-St. Clare finished off Centro Escolar University in the 2019 PBA D-League Foundation Cup semis to head to the Big Dance,...


BRT Sumisip Basilan-St. Clare exacted revenge on Marinerong Pilipino with a 74-60 Game Two victory to extend the 2019 PBA D-League Foundation Cup Finals,...


Marinerong Pilipino survived BRT Sumisip Basilan-St. Clare’s late rally to take the 69-59 Game One victory to move on the cusp of claiming the...


BRT Sumisip Basilan St. Clare repulsed Centro Escolar University, 86-70, to move a win away from the 2019 PBA D-League Foundation Cup Finals Thursday...


BRT Sumisip Basilan-St. Clare hardly broke a sweat in entering the 2019 PBA D-League Second Conference semifinals, blasting Hyperwash, 180-117, Monday at Paco Arena...