Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


La Consolacion ends PATTS’ reign

After five years, the La Consolacion College-Manila Blue Royals are back as champions after capturing the 10th Inter-Scholastic Athletic Association Seniors Basketball trophy. They took a hard-fought, 75-69 decision over defending champions PATTS College of Aeronautics Sea Horses in Game Three of their best of three series Monday at the LCCM Gym.

The Blue Royals did not disappoint, as they churned out a balanced offense and pesky defense to end the Seahorses’ three-year reign and recapture the title they first won in 2013.

For a moment, the Blue Royals built an 11-point lead in fourth, 70-59, and were in cruise control. But PATTS refused to fold, while Norman Torreno took over by scoring the game’s next 10 points to put them within striking distance with 1:15 to play, 69-70.

Both sides then swapped botched plays, as the Seahorses could not convert even point-blank stabs. Thurlough Grealy was sent to the free throw on the fifth and last foul of Aldrich Lopez and split his two shots to give PATTS some hope with 16 ticks to go. Jesse Bardaje managed to intercept the inbound pass coming off a PATTS timeout for a soaring layup, 73-69.

Taking advantage of the confusion, the Blue Royals forced another turnover. Nino Tamayo scooted down for another layup to finalize the score.

“What you saw in the last minute was the result of all the hard work we put in since last April,” said champion coach Bong de la Cruz. “The character of the team came out and it was all about our defense, it’s doubly challenging when you have to build a team from scratch with all our newcomers this season.”

Six of the nine players fielded by De La Cruz scored eight more points with Paul Harley Dagunan leading the assault with 14 and the Most Valuable Player of the Finals award.

#ReadMore  TJ Carino, Jessie Bardaje power La Consolacion to Game 1 comeback

Tamayo and Bardaje were next with 13 each.

PATTS’ offense was concentrated on Torreno, who led all scorers with 27 points, while Mark Jayson Morada had 22. Lopez was next with only seven points, as he lapsed into early foul trouble.

Grealy was hailed as the season MVP. He was joined in the Mythical Five by teammate TJ Carino, Leonard Mengoy, and Lopez of PATTS and Gabrielle Aguas of Trinity University of Asia.

The Scores

LCCM (75) – Dagunan 14, Tamayo 13, Bardaje 13, Grealy 12, Carino 8, Latoreno 8, Navarette 4, Talag 3, Lopez 0.

PATTS (69) – Torreno 27, Morada 22, Lopez 7, Bautista 6, Po 4, Mengoy 2, Reed 1, Palencia 0, Saliddin 0, JG Reyes 0.

Quarterscores: 16-13, 36-30, 53-49, 75-69.

Written By

You May Also Like


Reigning NCAA titlist San Beda-Taytay inched closer from forging a mouth-watering title showdown with UAAP and defending champion National University, sweeping its own group...


National University-Nazareth School launched its title-retention bid in style, dumping first-timer La Consolacion College, 109-82, to advance to the quarters of the 8th PSSBC-Freego...


La Salle Green Hills encountered some scary moments before eking out an 87-85 win over La Consolacion College at the start of the 8th...


Manila Mayor Isko Moreno will be the special guest when the Philippine Secondary Schools Basketball Championship (PSSBC) Freego Cup launches its eighth edition on...


Far Eastern University and Ateneo face rough sailing in their title campaigns after being drawn in tough groups in the 8th PSSBC Freego Cup,...


Defending champions PATTS College of Aeronautics Sea Horses forced a deciding Game Three by overwhelming visiting La Consolacion College-Manila Blue Royals, 62-42, in Game...


Top seed La Consolacion College-Manila Blue Royals lived up to their billing and took Game One of the 10th Inter-Scholastic Athletic Association Seniors Basketball...


It will be top seed La Consolacion College Blue Royals going up against defending champions PATTS College of Aeronautics Sea Horses for the 10th...