Connect with us


GALLERY: MPBL opening ceremony



Tiebreaker Times GALLERY: MPBL opening ceremony Basketball MPBL News  Manny Pacquiao 2018 MPBL Raja Cup

The Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League finally raised its curtains, Thursday evening at the SMART-Araneta Coliseum in Quezon City.

Gracing the event was league founder Sen. Manny Pacquiao.

In a short but sweet message, boxing’s only eight-division world champion clarified that this is the fruit of his love for basketball.

“Pinili ko muna ang basketball bago ang boxing,” the Fighting Senator said.

The initial conference of the league will compose of teams from Luzon, namely the Bataan Defenders, the Batangas Athletics-Tanduay, the Bulacan Kuyas, the Caloocan Supremos, the Imus Bandera, the Muntinlupa Cagers, the Navotas Clutch, the Paranaque Patriots, the Quezon City Capitals, and the Valenzuela Classic.

Former Gilas Pilipinas player Gary David led the oath of sportsmanship before the league tipped off with the Caloocan versus Paranaque tilt being the league’s first-ever game.