Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times
(C) San Beda


Edgar Barroga takes over San Beda WVT program

San Beda University is rebooting its women’s volleyball program.

Set to lead the revamp is decorated head coach Edgar Barroga, who replaces Ariel Dela Cruz as head coach of the Lady Red Spikers.

Barroga is a multiple-time UAAP champion coach in the boys’ volleyball division, steering National University Nazareth School to four crowns.

“I am excited to be part of the San Beda community as the head coach of the women’s volleyball team,” Barroga said.

“I am challenged to bring them to at least the Final Four next season by sharing my experience and knowledge with the team.”

San Beda is coming off back-to-back dismal performances in the NCAA, including a ninth place (1-8) finish last season.

Prior to the pandemic, the Lady Red Spikers were perennial Final Four contenders, being led by Cesca Racraquin and the Viray twins.

San Beda made the finals in NCAA Season 93 and finished in the Final Four a season later.

Barroga tapped Ray Anthony Rosales and former Lady Red Spiker Justine Lapid as assistant coaches.

“My coaching staff and management team are motivated to prepare a competitive training program that would bring us to a podium finish if favored timely in two years for the centennial anniversary of the NCAA,” said the current head coach of PVL team Gerflor.

Barroga will lead a team of talented rookies, including Gwen Banas, Sophie Cagalawan, Amber Lily Biong, Gina Espina, Erich Belo Bula, Justine Sillo, and Jayde dela Cruz.

In addition to the promising newcomers, San Beda boasts a group of experienced holdover players, such as the Tayag sisters, Marianne Louise, and Maxinne Joyce, along with skilled transferees Reyann Cañete, Erin Navarro, and Jessica Umali.

#ReadMore  San Sebastian does not renew Macaraya, taps John Kallos as new head coach
Written By

You May Also Like


Kevin Quiambao, Kent Pastrana, Bella Belen, and Joshua Retamar will be recognized as the collegiate season’s cream of the crop at the Collegiate Press...


The Collegiate Press Corps (CPC) will honor seven of the best coaches at the collegiate level, including mentors in volleyball and women’s basketball for...


College of St. Benilde and University of Perpetual Help showcased their dominance over Letran and Emilio Aguinaldo College, respectively, on Sunday to extend their...


College of St. Benilde overcame early resistance from Letran before eventually dominating the match with a 25-21, 25-15, 25-14 victory yesterday, putting them on...


May 15, 2024, will forever be a special date for National University. Not only did the school win both the UAAP Men’s and Women’s...


Beginning on Sunday, two schools from the National Collegiate Athletic Association of the Philippines will take centerstage in the epitome of a clash between...


Titing Manalili, orchestrating the Letran Squires with finesse and determination, will leave the NCAA Juniors ranks as a two-time champion. Averaging an impressive 22...


Although their battle on the hardwood over the past two weeks was as intense as any Finals match, Letran head coach Allen Ricardo and...