Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times

2020 Badminton Asia Team Championships

Chinese Taipei takes Group C, drags Philippines to Asian Badminton Team QF

Chinese Taipei overcame a shocking upset of world no. 2 Chou Tien Chen to win over Singapore, 4-1, completing a sweep of Group C and move to the quarterfinals of the 2020 SMART Badminton Asia Manila Team Championships, Thursday at the Rizal Memorial Coliseum.

The win also gave the Philippines its first-ever passage into the next round of the continental meet that is backed by SMART Communications Inc., MVP Sports Foundation, Leisure and Resorts World Corporation, Cignal, and TV5.

The duo of Lee Yang and Lu Ching Yao decimated Sinagpore’s Jia Howin Wong and Chuan Aaron Wong, 21-9, 21-7, to secure the Taiwanese’ second straight win in the tournament.

Loh Kean Yew earlier stunned Chou winning in straight-set fashion, 21-16, 21-17, to put Singapore in the lead. Chinese Taipei then came back to eventually eliminate the former in the next two matches.

Liao Min Chun and Su Ching Heng leveled the contest with the win in the first doubles rubber, 21-18, 21-15. Wang Tzu Wei later fended off Jason Teh in the second singles match, 21-15, 21-11, to take the 2-1 lead for the Taiwanese side.

Hsueh Hsuan Yi completed the rout with a 21-18, 21-16 victory over Wei Hong Lee.

In Group B, Malaysia’s Ong Yew Sin and Teo Ee Yi dominated India’s Dhruv Kapila and Lakshya Sen in the second doubles match, 21-14, 21-14, to enter the last eight with the group win.

The Southeast Asians eventually closed the group stage with a 4-1 win over India.

Lee Zii Jia put Malaysia on board first with a swift 21-18, 21-15 conquest of Sai Praneth B. in the opening singles match. Aaron Chia and Soh Wooi Yik then put their squad on the verge of the win at 2-0 after dealing with M. R. Arjun and Chirag Shetty, 21-18, 21-15.

#ReadMore  Cone vouches for Chambers as UST coach: 'He knows PH basketball at the back of his hand'

Srikanth Kidambi delayed the celebrations after out-hustling June Wei Cheam in the second singles match, 14-21, 21-16, 21-19. Nonetheless, Ong and Teo were too much for Kapila and Sen, as the Malaysians bagged the tie in the succeeding rubber.

Leong Jun Hao closed the day with a sweep of H.S. Prannoy, 21-10, 21-15.

The quarterfinals for the men’s tournament takes place on Friday, February 14 at 4 p.m.

Grew to appreciate various sports from tennis to judo. True-maroon kiddo since the new millennium. Fanboy. Singer. Occasional sports writer.

You May Also Like

2022 Badminton Asia Championships

World No. 7 Lee Zii Jia of Malaysia completed his date with destiny after bagging his first-ever Asian title in men’s singles over Indonesia’s...

2022 Badminton Asia Championships

World no. 7 Lee Zii Jia’s road to history continued after his solid performance against China’s Weng Hong Yang, 21-11, 21-19, for a chance...

2022 Badminton Asia Championships

World no. 8 Jonatan Christie of Indonesia escaped with a hard-fought win against reigning World Champion Loh Kean Yew of Singapore, 22-20, 23-21, to...

2022 Badminton Asia Championships

World No. 7 Lee Zii Jia of Malaysia took care of business with a 21-14, 22-20 win against Shesar Hiren Rhustavito of Indonesia in...

2022 Badminton Asia Championships

India’s Pusarla V. Sindhu booked her place in the quarterfinals with a win over Singapore’s Yue Yann Jaslyn Hooi, 21-16, 21-16, in the women’s...

2022 Badminton Asia Championships

Second-seed Anthony Ginting of Indonesia found his groove back late to take care of Thailand’s Sitthikhom Thammasin, 21-13, 17-21, 21-13 in the men’s singles...

2022 Badminton Asia Championships

Singapore’s Loh Kean Yew’s bid for an Asian title is off to a good start after taking care of Kanthapon Wangcharoen of Thailand, 21-16,...

2022 Badminton Asia Championships

For the first time, the Philippines will be hosting a BWF World Tour Super 1000 tournament with the 2022 SMART Badminton Asia Championships set...