Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Ateneo, San Beda headline record 20-team PBA D-League field

Twenty teams will lock horns once the 2019 PBA D-League season rolls around on February 14 at Ynares Sports Arena in Pasig.

Go for Gold-CSB, the champions of the past 2018 PBA D-League Foundation Cup, will return to the fold as it tries to extend their dynasty against a stacked field, which includes UAAP champions Ateneo, NCAA kings San Beda, NAASCU titlists St. Clare, and UCBL rulers Diliman College.

Fifteen school-based teams will join the tilt, as the record number of teams led the league to scrap the two-conference format and push through with the lone season staging.

League pioneer Centro Escolar University; last season’s back-to-back runner-up Che’Lu Bar & Grill; holdovers Marinerong Pilipino, Batangas-EAC; and AMA Online Education will all be part of this season’s competitions, as well as returnees Perpetual and Wangs Basketball.

UAAP teams FEU, UST, and NU, together with NCAA contenders Letran and San Sebastian, are all raring to test their mantle in the developmental ranks.

Newcomers Phoenix-Enderun, Trinity College, and McDavid will also make their debuts this season to complete the field.

Last year’s cellar-dwellers AMA Online Education will pick first in the 2019 PBA D-League Draft, set on January 15.

#ReadMore  Michael Calisaan's career-high tows San Sebastian to showdown with JRU
Written By

You May Also Like


National University has found a ready-made replacement for Kean Baclaan, while also adding to its stockpile of athletic and versatile wings. The Bulldogs have...


Sean Chambers was a very successful basketball player in the Philippines during the 90s with Alaska in the PBA. Fast forward to 2024, Chambers...


Marinerong Pilipino-San Beda dominated CCI-Yengskivel, 126-76, seizing a share of the lead in the 2024 PBA D-League Aspirants’ Cup on Thursday at the Ynares...


Defending titlist La Salle-Ecooil surged in the second half to fend off Centro Escolar, 89-61, and maintain an unbeaten record in the 2024 PBA...


Amidst mounting speculation regarding the coaching future of Converge, Jacob Lao, the team manager of the FiberXers. dispelled rumors suggesting a potential replacement of...


Collegiate champions La Salle-Ecooil and Marinerong Pilipino-San Beda continued to dominate the competition in the 2024 PBA D-League Aspirants’ Cup at the Ynares Sports...


Centro Escolar University surged ahead in the third quarter and comfortably dispatched Diliman College 74-61, extending its reign in the Universities and Colleges Athletic...


Sean Chambers is coming back to the Philippines. The PBA icon has been appointed as the new head coach of Far Eastern University (FEU),...