Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Teng, Jalalon headline All-Collegiate team

A pair of De La Salle University Green Archers and three of the NCAA’s best players comprise the Mighty Sports Collegiate Mythical Five who will be awarded on Jan. 26 in the Collegiate Basketball Awards at the Montgomery Place Social Hall on E. Rodriguez Ave., Quezon City.

The duo of Ben Mbala and Jeron Teng, who joined forces to lead La Salle to the UAAP championship last month, lead this year’s batch alongside Mapua’s Allwell Oraeme, San Beda’s Javee Mocon, and Arellano University’s Jio Jalalon.

They earned a place in the best five, who are selected by the UAAP-NCAA Press Corps and backed by Mighty Sports, for their outstanding performances during the collegiate season.

Their inclusion in the Mythical Five also makes them candidates for the Smart Player of the Year, one of the major awards in the event backed by Smart, Accel, Mighty Sports, MJM Productions, and Chooks-to-Go.UAAP-NCAA-Press-Corps-awards-Coach-of-the-Year-Aldin-Ayo-and-Jamike-Jarin Teng, Jalalon headline All-Collegiate team AU DLSU MIT NCAA News SBC UAAP  - philippine sports news

Aldin Ayo and Jamike Jarin were named Coach of the Year for leading La Salle and San Beda to the championship of their respective leagues.

Mbala was named UAAP Most Valuable Player, while Teng took the Finals MVP plum as the Green Archers won their ninth championship in near-perfect fashion, winning 16 of 17 games, including a sweep of the arch-rivals Ateneo Blue Eagles in the finals.

Meanwhile, Oraeme bagged his second straight NCAA MVP plum after carrying the Mapua Institute of Technology Cardinals back to the Final Four.

Mocon was one of the vital figures of the San Beda College Red Lions’ successful championship run in the NCAA, sweeping Jalalon and the Arellano University Chiefs in the finals held last October.

#ReadMore  Jett Manuel to enter 2016 PBA Draft

Jalalon, now a PBA rookie, showed why he was one of the country’s amateur cagers after carrying the Chiefs to their second finals appearance in three seasons.

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Zavier Lucero and his camp met with officials from De La Salle University through Zoom, Monday morning (Manila time). And the Lucero family liked...


Rarely does a product from Far Eastern University-Diliman head to De La Salle University for college. But it happened Monday morning. Penny Estacio committed...


De La Salle University continues its recruiting haul by nabbing one of the top guards in the 2021 recruitment class. Penny Estacio committed to...


De La Salle University secured the commitment of one of the brightest Filipino prospects in Australia last Sunday.  Six-foot-four swingman Jared Abadam is set...


La Salle added another weapon to its already loaded arsenal, securing the commitment of Fil-Am guard Deschon Winston.  Green Archers head coach Derrick Pumaren...


De La Salle Alumni Association added eight more former student-athletes and sportsmen to its Hall of Fame, Thursday evening. Headlining the class is Renren...


Jio Jalalon became the center of online discussions Friday — but for the wrong reasons. His wife, Kristina, took to her Instagram and Facebook...


Four student-athletes will see action in the 2021 Chooks-to-Go VisMin Super Cup after properly securing their special guest licenses. Arellano University’s Jordan Sta. Ana,...