Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times

Beach Volleyball

Viray twins lead BVR: Lingayen Open cast

Twins Nieza and Ella Viray will strut their wares in front of their compatriots as the the BVR On Tour: Lingayen Open kicks off on Tuesday at the Capitol Beachfront in Lingayen.

Making their first stint since the National Championship in Dagupan last year, the Virays – who were instrumental in getting two NCAA championships for San Beda – will lead a crack field of 12 women’s teams in the two-day tournament which is held as part of this town’s annual Pistay Dayat celebrations.

Perlas’ Bea Tan and Dij Rodriguez – the Puerto Galera and Santa Fe, Bantayan Island leg winners – hope to get back on the winning track after finishing second to the University of Santo Tomas’ Babylove Barbon and Gen Eslapor in Dumaguete over the weekend.

Roma Joy Doromal will not have her younger sister Roma Mae this time around. Instead, it will be Kly Orillaneda who will form NU-Boysen 1.

Aside from Orillaneda, Bingle Landicho will make her much-awaited return in the sand court for NU Boysen 2 with Kath Epa.

It will be a wide-open race in the men’s division, as this year’s three-time champions Ranran Abdilla and Jessie Lopez won’t be seeing action.

Representing Air Force 2, Jade Becaldo and Mike Abria – former two-time Boracay beach volleyball champions, who were reunited and placed second in Dumaguete over the weekend – are installed as heavy favorites.

Other women’s players to watch out are the Air Force pairs of May Ann Pantino and Jozza Cabalsa, and Mikaela Andres and Angel Antipuesto; and Sta. Lucia’s Jackie Estoquia and DM Demontaño.

#ReadMore  Greg Slaughter, Ginebra clobber Columbian to get back on track

Air Force 1’s Edwin Tolentino and Ruben Inaudito, and NU-Boysen’s Pol Salvador and James Buytrago are also expected to contend in the men’s side.

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like

Beach Volleyball

SANTA ANA, Cagayan — Creamline 1’s Sisi Rondina and Bernadeth Pons moved two wins of clinching another BVR on Tour crown following masterful 21-10,...

Beach Volleyball

SANTA ANA, Cagayan — Creamline 1’s Sisi Rondina and Bernadeth Pons became the women’s Pool B winners after the long-time pair downed Black Mamba...

Beach Volleyball

SANTA ANA, Cagayan — The Creamline women’s beach volleyball squads, which form the core of the 30th Southeast Asian Games bronze medal team, put...


BACARRA, ILOCOS NORTE — Choco Mucho took out the Jorelle Singh-led PLDT in four sets, 28-26, 10-25, 27-25, 25-11, to pick up its first...

2020 Tokyo Olympics

Errors doomed Sisi Rondina and Bernadeth Pons in the golden match as the Philippines bid farewell to its Olympic dreams, Friday in Nakhon Pathom,...

2020 Tokyo Olympics

The Philippine National Men’s Beach Volleyball Team ended its 2018-2020 AVC Continental Cup stint after dropping both of their games against Australia, Friday afternoon. ...

2020 Tokyo Olympics

The Philippines’ 2018-2020 AVC Continental Cup campaign is off to a rousing start, Friday in Nakhon Pathom, Thailand. This as the duo of Jaron...

2020 Tokyo Olympics

The Philippine Women’s National Beach Volleyball Team will have one less problem when it competes in the 2018-20 AVC Continental Cup in Nakhon Pathom,...