Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Unstoppable Chloe Daos bags 2 more golds, seals MVP

Nobody seems to be able to slow down the reigning UAAP Women’s Swimming Most Valuable Player, as Chloe Daos added two more gold medals for the Ateneo de Manila University Lady Eagles in the third day of the UAAP Season 81 Swimming Championship.

With her sixth gold medal in this year’s tournament, she is already assured of a second straight tiara in as many years, as no other competitor has come close to her point total.

Despite that, she is still set to swim one last event on Day 4, the 200m butterfly.

Daos once again demonstrated her mastery of the freestyle and butterfly events, as she topped the 200m freestyle in 2:10.53 and 50m butterfly in 29.52 seconds. Fellow Lady Eagle Andrea Ngui played bridesmaid to Daos in both events, as she finished in 2:13.31 for the 200m freestyle and 30.37 seconds for the 50m butterfly. Two Lady Maroons collected the bronze medals, as Nadine Tee Ten clocked in at 2:15.12 in the 200m freestyle and Ariana Canaya managed a time of 30.51 seconds in the 50m butterfly.

Other Lady Eagles shone for the Blue and White, as Courtney Gray ruled the 100m backstroke in 1:08.79 to collect her second gold medal; Raegan Gavino bagged her first gold medal this season in the 400m individual medley with a time of 5:22.18; and the 200m freestyle relay squad of Shaye Uy, Alliah Tan, Hannah Castañeda, and Ngui won at 1:54.38.

Dara Evangelista (DLSU) took the silver in the 100m backstroke with a time of 1:09.70, while rookie Angela Villamil (UP) brought home the bronze in 1:10.88. Tee Ten added a silver medal to her collection in the 400m individual medley by registering a time of 5:24.27, as Pricila Aquino finished third in 5:33.69. UP (1:57.48) were second in the 200m freestyle relay, while DLSU (1:58.02) were third.

#ReadMore  RR De Leon, Capobres boosts Magnolia's roster to 15

It wasn’t all Ateneo for the day, though, as Alyssa Pogiongko provided the University of the Philippines with a lone gold in the 100m breaststroke by touching at 1:20.12. Aquino touched next at 1:20.46, while Ateneo’s rookie bet Dara Carreon ended third in 1:21.18.

Heading into the final day of action, the Lady Eagles carry a commanding lead of 114 points over their closest challengers, the Lady Maroons. Day 4 events include the 50m backstroke, 200m breaststroke, 200m butterfly, 50m freestyle, and 400m medley relay.

MVP Race

Chloe Daos (ADMU) – 90
Nadine Tee Ten (UP) – 61
Dara Carreon (ADMU) – 51
Raegan Gavino (ADMU) – 51
Courtney Gray (ADMU) – 42

League Standings

ADMU – 401
UP – 287
UST – 106
DLSU – 81
UE – 6

Written By

Aldo is an ultimate sports enthusiast who watches and plays a multitude of sports like basketball, volleyball, swimming and water polo. His heart bleeds blue as he graduated in Jesuit institutions and is currently employed in one. Purefoods (or whatever name they call it now) in the PBA and the LA Lakers in the NBA are his favorite basketball teams.

You May Also Like


Thanya Dela Cruz sets the tone once again, breaking the women’s 50-meter breaststroke national record to 32.42 seconds on the first day of the...

2021 SEA Games

Coming off a successful Swimming National Selection meet last October 22-24, 2021 in Capas, Tarlac, the Philippine Swimming Inc. will be coming back home...


CAPAS, Tarlac — Xiandi Chua went out of the thrilling women’s 100-meter freestyle victorious and captured a sweep of her three events at the...


CAPAS, Tarlac — The stage is all set for the 2021 Philippine Swimming, Inc. (PSI) National Selection Bubble starting on Friday at New Clark...


Ateneo libero Dani Ravena played a huge role when the Lady Eagles evened up the series after a four-set victory in Game Two of...


Anton Asistio feels honored to have had Jai Reyes as a teammate in Bataan during the early goings of the 2019-20 Chooks-to-Go Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball...


Despite having to cancel Season 82 due to the ongoing coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, the University Athletic Association of the Philippines still made sure to...


What would have happened if Ben Mbala played out his final year of eligibility with La Salle? Would have he stopped the current Ateneo...