Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Thirdy Ravena, Hesed Gabo to be honored during PBA PC Awards Night

Thirdy Ravena and Hesed Gabo definitely made their mark in the 2019 PBA D-League season as they manned the ships of their respective squads and steered them towards championship glory.

And so they will be recognized by the PBA Press Corps as the D-League Finals MVPs once the esteemed group finds a date for its annual Awards Night set at Novotel Manila in Araneta City, Cubao.

This marks the second straight time that the PBAPC will give the said honors. Current Columbian Dyip guard CJ Perez and ex-pro Gab Banal were the first winners of the plum in 2019.

Ravena was on the forefront of Cignal-Ateneo’s championship success in the First Conference, where they beat an undermanned yet gutsy Centro Escolar University in four games for the gold.

He uncorked 15 points, four rebounds, four steals, and two steals in the title clincher that gave the Blue Eagles their first title in the developmental ranks in just their first foray.

The second-generation cager averaged 13.0 points, 5.8 rebounds, 2.3 assists and 1.5 steals in the Finals.

Gabo, on the other hand, only normed 7.0 points in BRT Sumisip Basilan-St. Clare’s duel with Marinerong Pilipino for Foundation Cup supremacy but he delivered in the deciding Game Three.

The former Mapua Cardinals guard rose to the occasion and produced 12 points, seven assists, and five rebounds in a solid performance that saw him hit key shots down the stretch.

It was Gabo who sank the go-ahead three-pointer with 3:21 remaining in the game that gave his side a 59-57 lead, and the Saints went on to defeat the veteran-laden Skippers, 63-60.

#ReadMore  Lady Bulldogs demolish Lady Warriors, take 2nd seed

The PBAPC has yet to determine a date for its Awards Night as it suspended such last March 13 due to the novel coronavirus pandemic. It was supposed to be held last March 16.

Written By

Oftentimes on the sidelines. Forever a student of the game. Morayta-bred.

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Twenty-four hours after testing positive for the coronavirus (COVID-19), Thirdy Ravena gave an update on his condition.  And by the looks of it, the...


Thirdy Ravena has tested positive for COVID-19. His B.League team San-En NeoPhoenix made the announcement, Friday evening. According to the team’s statement, the 23-year-old...


San-En NeoPhoenix struggled anew against B.League defending champions Alvark Tokyo, bowing 65-88, Sunday afternoon at Arena Tachikawa Tachihi. Thirdy Ravena bounced back from a...


Thirdy Ravena was the focal point of Alvark Tokyo’s defense that led to San-En suffering a crushing 76-94 loss in the 2020-21 B.League season,...

2021 FIBA Asia Cup

Dwight Ramos has big shoes to fill once Gilas arrives in Manama, Bahrain.  Unlike the first window of the 2021 FIBA Asia Cup Qualifiers,...


When Thirdy Ravena signed with San-En NeoPhoenix, CEO Kenjiro Hongo said that Filipinos would come in droves whenever they play on their home floor...


AICHI, JAPAN — Despite giving his all, Thirdy Ravena’s inspired rally was not enough to lift San En. NeoPhoenix bowed to Osaka, 84-85, Wednesday...


TNT head coach Bong Ravena could not be there for his son Thirdy when he packed his bags last October 15 to go to...