Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times

2019 SEA Games

Spectacular show ushers in 30th SEA Games

BULACAN — The Philippine Southeast Asian Games Organizing Committee delivered on its promise of a “world-class” show as the 30th SEA Games formally opened Saturday at the Philippine Arena.

Asia’s Nightingale Lani Misalucha performed a powerful rendition of Lupang Hinirang before a four-part production of song and dance followed.

Dancers from the Ramon Obusan Folkloric Group led the other performers, consisting of students from various schools and universities across the country, in opening the production segment with dances from the indigenous peoples, setting up for the parade of athletes.

Eleven Filipina beauty queens walked before the athletes from the 11 participating NOCs, similar to a Santacruzan parade, with Miss Universe 2015 Pia Wurtzbach taking the lead for the Philippines. Instead of the usual single flag bearer, the hosts had five with Meggie Ochoa (jiujitsu), Margie Didal (skateboarding), Eumir Marcial (boxing), EJ Obiena (athletics), and Kiyomi Watanabe (judo) carrying a huge flag to lead the 1,115 athletes and 753 officials entering the Arena to the music of the iconic song, “Manila” by The Hotdogs.

Robert Seña welcomed the athletes to the Philippines with a revised version of Hadji Alejandro’s “Kay Ganda ng Ating Musika”.

The Southeast Asian Games Federation flag was then carried into the Arena by Filipino sporting greats with Lydia De Vega-Mercado of athletics; Akiko Thomson and Eric Buhain of swimming; Bong Coo and Paeng Nepomuceno of bowling; Alvin Patrimonio of basketball; Onyok Velasco of boxing; and Efren “Bata” Reyes, who is still competing in this year’s Games at the age of 65.

The Athletes’ Oath and Officials’ Oath followed with Cheska Altomonte, captain of the nine-time Games champion Philippine women’s softball team, and Daren Vitug of eSports, representing the athletes and the officials, respectively.

#ReadMore  Singapore quashes Philippines' gold hope in SEA Games Men's Floorball

Christian Bautista and Aicelle Santos then serenaded the crowd with Kundiman song, “Minamahal”. Inigo Pascual came out of a bahay-kubo and began a tribute to the OPM legend Francis Magalona, along with KZ Tandingan and the rapper’s son, Elmo Magalona.

International star closed the party with his group Black Eyed Peas’ monster hit “Bebot”, putting the crowd into a frenzy.

The night ended with the singing of the Games’ official theme song “We Win As One”, as the previous singers were joined by Jed Medela, TNT Boys, and Ana Fegi.

As the song progressed, boxing legend and Senator Manny Pacquiao brought in the torch and, with reigning 2019 AIBA Women’s Champion Nesthy Petecio,, lit up the cauldron at the New Clark City Athletics Stadium as the ceremony closed and officially announced the opening of the Games itself.

Grew to appreciate various sports from tennis to judo. True-maroon kiddo since the new millennium. Fanboy. Singer. Occasional sports writer.

You May Also Like

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

Two Filipinas once again shone brightly on the biggest stage of jiu-jitsu. Kimberly Anne Custodio and Meggie Ochoa ruled their respective divisions in the...


Eumir Marcial had to overcome adversity in his third pro bout. The reigning Summer Olympics bronze medalist needed to dig deep to take a...


Manny Pacquiao was one of the surprise panelists during the RIZIN 38 press conference on Saturday in Saitama, Japan. And headlining RIZIN 38 are...


EJ Obiena collected a second consecutive gold in record-smashing fashion after taking the 2022 Gala dei Castelli with 5.81 meters, Monday at the Bellinzona...


EJ Obiena returned to his winning ways after copping the gold with a clearance of 5.71 meters in the Golden Fly Series leg in...


EJ Obiena’s streak ended after finishing with a silver in the 2022 ISTAF Berlin meet on Sunday at the Olympic Stadium in Germany. The...


Ej Obiena ended up on top of the Memorial van Damme pole vault event of the 2022 Wanda Diamond League after a huge last-ditch...


EJ Obiena went golden for a second straight time, winning the St. Wendel City Jump meet, Thursday morning (Philippine time) in Germany. The University...