Connect with us

Beach Volleyball

Pons-Rodriguez seals three-peat for Petron, Rondina



Tiebreaker Times Pons-Rodriguez seals three-peat for Petron, Rondina Beach Volleyball News PSL  Sta. Lucia Lady Realtors RanRan Abdilla Petron Blaze Spikers Pemi Bagalay KR Guzman Jennifer Costas Jason Uy Jackie Estoquia Efraem Dimaculangan Edmar Bonono DM Demontano Dij Rodriguez Cignal HD Spikers Bianca Lizares Bernadeth Pons 2019 PSL Season 2019 PSL Beach Volleyball Challenge Cup
File photo

Bernadeth Pons proved that she’s still the queen of the sand when she powered Petron XCS to its third straight title in the Philippine Superliga Beach Volleyball Challenge Cup, late Saturday at the Capitol Beach Front in Lingayen, Pangasinan.

Playing without regular partner Sisi Rondina, Pons conspired with Dij Rodriguez to dominate Jackie Estoquia and DM Demontano of Sta. Lucia Santorini, 21-10, 21-14, in the final, to clinch the gold medal in this prestigious summer spectacle.

The high-flying Rondina failed to make it as she set her focus on leading UST in Game 3 of the UAAP Women’s Volleyball Tournament Finals, also on Saturday.

Still, Pons took care of business. She led the Blaze Spikers to a strong start and an even stronger finish to dominate the Lady Realtors en route to claiming a grand slam.

“Binilin sa amin ni Sisi na manalo kami,” said Pons, the former FEU Lady Tamaraws star, who will reunite with Rondina in the FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour in Boracay later this month.

“Noong una, kinakabahan ako dahil alam naman natin paano maglaro si Sisi. Pero tinrust ko lang si Ate Dij kasi alam ko naman may experience na siya. Nagtiwala lang kami sa isa’t isa.”

Meanwhile, Bianca Lizares and Jennifer Costas of Sta. Lucia Woodside clobbered Derie Rose Virtusio and Mary Rose Jauculan of Petron Sprint 4T, 21-16, 14-21, 17-15, to capture the bronze medal.

In the men’s play, the pair of Edmar Bonono and Ran Abdilla of Cignal smothered the tandem of Kris Guzman and Efraem Dimaculangan of Foton to clinch the gold, 21-18, 19-21, 15-13. Meanwhile, Jason Lindo Uy and Philip Michael Bagalay of Philippine Army crushed Joshua Mina and Joshua Pitogo of Emilio Aguinaldo College, 21-17, 21-14, in the bronze-medal match.

READ  Tiras Wade to replace injured Richard Howell in iECO's match vs Xinjiang