Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


San Beda blitzes Shooting Stars Challenge

The San Beda University troika of Rome De La Rosa, Calvin Oftana, and Penny Estacio torched the competition in the NCAA Season 94 All-Star Shooting Stars Challenge.

It did not take long for the Red Lions to seal the crown, as Oftana knocked down the halfcourt triple just 23.0 seconds in. San Beda advanced to the final with a top time of 25.0 seconds in the elimination round.

De La Rosa, who last played for San Beda five years ago, was a very late replacement as he came in for Jake Pascual.

“Hindi ko alam ito eh. Sakto nandito yung brother ko sa three-point shootout so I joined,” said De La Rosa, who won four championships in the NCAA.

“I’m just thankful to be able to experience this. Yung time ko, wala pang All-Star eh. Masaya na nanalo,” the now-Magnolia Hotshot added.

For Oftana and Estacio, it’s a huge honor to share the court with the San Beda great.

“Siyempre, excited kami na last minute replacement siya e. Wala kasi si Kuya Jake pero excited kami. Laking honor,” said Oftana.

“Thankful din ako sa opportunity na ito at sa short time na nakasama ko si Kuya Rome,” added Estacio.

The Mapua trio of Yong Garcia, Exe Biteng, and Clint Escamis – who advanced with a time of 31.2 – ticks, clocked in a far 41.8 seconds in the finale.

Defending champions Perpetual Altas, who had Gerald Dizon, Jielo Razon, and Yukihiro Kawamura, were not able to make it to the heads-up finale as they finished third with a time of 32.1 seconds.

#ReadMore  PBA: Meralco survives Oftana's flurry, secures twice-to-beat edge

Also joining the event are Jio Jalalon, Kraniel Villoria, and Marlon Espiritu of Arellano; Rey Nambatac, Christian Fajarito, and Stacey Tibayan of Letran; Jeff Quiamco, Michael Are, and Milo Janao for San Sebastian; Bong Melocoton, Sean Neri, and Cjay Boado for EAC; Kevin Lacap, Carl Lumbao, and John Barba for Lyceum; RJ Deles, Carlo Young, and Sebastian Locsin for St. Benilde; and Philip Paniamogan, Agem Miranda and John Amores of JRU.

Written By

You May Also Like


San Beda University missed its second straight NCAA Seniors Basketball Finals last Tuesday. For some in the community that has gotten used to Finals...


Has James Kwekuteye played his final game for San Beda University? The 6-foot-2 Fil-Canadian was unhappy with how San Beda University ended its Season...


After 20 long years, College of Saint Benilde is back in the National Collegiate Athletic Association of the Philippines’ big dance. Behind the steady...


By all accounts, Jose Rizal University’s 87-71 win over Colegio de San Juan de Letran is an upset. After all, the Heavy Bombers have...


De La Salle University finally come to life amidst a campaign that looked like it was heading toward premature oblivion. After a start that...


De La Salle University stretched its winning streak to three games after tripping Final Four-bound National University, 63-58, in the UAAP Season 85 men’s...


College of Saint Benilde staged a huge second-half comeback, turning back San Beda University, 82-73, to seal the second seed in the NCAA Season...


Behind Jacob Cortez’s career game, San Beda University completed its revenge against also-ran Jose Rizal University, taking a 70-61 triumph in the NCAA Season...