Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Saint Clare spoils Valandre Chauca’s Enderun debut

The Saint Clare College of Caloocan Saints and the De Ocampo Memorial College Cobras racked up contrasting wins to jump-start the 18th National Athletic Association of Schools, Colleges and Universities season, Tuesday at the Cuneta Astrodome in Pasay City.

Defending champion Saints swept away the Enderun Colleges Titans, 96-72.

The Saints showed the seriousness of their drive for a historic three-peat by whitewashing the Titans.

Substitutes Russel Fuentes and Joseph Penaredondo formed an outside-inside combination to tally 13 points each and underscore their team’s depth.

The win spoiled the Enderun-debut of former California Golden Bears Valandre Chauca, who had 15 points.

On the other hand, the Cobras needed overtime to survive the De La Salle Araneta University Stallions, 83-81.

Regulation play ended at 73-73 all.

In the overtime, the Cobras banked on their veteran poise with Raymart Atabay and Harold Lescano nailing back to back triples as they led for good, 80-73.

Lescano, EJ Canelas, and Tyrone de la Cruz led the Cobras with 10 points each. DOMC placed second to Saint Clare last season.

In other games, the New Era University Hunters formally opened hostilities with a 70-64 triumph over the Philippine Christian University Dolphins.

Prolific Jeff Comia scattered 13 of his 24 points in a second period romp while center Adzar Udjan supported him with 10 points, seven rebounds and four blocks.

It was also a good start for Our Lady of Fatima University Phoenix as they crushed crowd favorite City University of Pasay Green Eagles, 94-67.

Veteran guard Miguel Bryan Cabrera showed the way with 16 points, five rebounds and three assists with fellow starting guard Jeremy Troy Sarona chipped in 15.

#ReadMore  Jade Disquitado commits to NU

NAASCU Seniors action resumes Thursday (September 13) with five games at the Rizal Technological University Gym in Mandaluyong City. The featured contest pits home side RTU against the league’s newest member National Teachers College at 2:00 PM.

The Scores:

First Game

New Era 70 – Comia 24, Udjan 12, Bringas 6, Marticio 6, Plema 6, de Guzman 4, Astoveza 4, Castillo 4, de la Cruz 2, Reyes 2, Villareal 0.

PCU 64 – Vasquez 23, Ordonez 13, Palattao 5, Eusebio 5, Abrigo 4, Sumalacay 4, Okoronkwo 3, Tolentino 3, Caldozo 2, de la Cruz 2, Aurellano 0, Lo 0.

Quarterscores: 15-19, 43-33, 61-45, 70-64.

Second Game

Saint Clare 96 – Penaredondo 13, Fuentes 13, Pare 12, Palencia 10, Tecson 9, Hallare 8, Rebugio 8, Santos 6, Catura 5, Fontanilla 5, de Leon 4, Decano 2, Joven 1, Biteng 0, Rubio 0,

Enderun 72 – De La Cruz 15, Chauca 15, Nunez 9, Gatdula 9, Tancioco 5, Oebanda 4, Maagdenberg 4, Goethals 4, Francisco 2, Mulvhill 2, Veloso 2, Dungan 1, Khatri 0, Mariano 0, Sacundo 0, Santos 0.

Quarterscores: 25-25, 42-40, 67-53, 96-72.

Third Game

Our Lady of Fatima 94 – Cabrera 16, Sarona 15, Dalupang 12, Evardo 8, Dalupang 8, Diosa 7, Bacay 7, Espiritu 7, Diao 6, Suria 4, de Vera 3, Pastrana 1, Hoyohoy 0.

Pasay 67 – Aquino 20, J de la Cruz 12, Palmenco 6, Padilla 6, Catarbas 6, Kishimoto 5, Escabarte 5, Celestino 3, Gatchalian 2, Condado 2, Polintan 0,Manalang 0, K Villagomez 0, C Villagomez 0, Acidre 0.

#ReadMore  UCBL: Balogun, CEU show no mercy vs Guang Ming, enter semis

Quarterscores: 26-15, 44-27, 68-44, 94-67.

Fourth Game

De Ocampo 83 – Canelas 10, Lescano 10, de la Cruz 10, Montojo 9, Atabay 9, Manalang 8, Ramos 7, Pascual 6, Artesano 5, Licardo 5, Gallardo 2, Schwartz 2, Reyes 0, Sabasaje 0, Gutierrez 0.

DLSA 81 – Lorenzo 14, Aquino 13, Iloka 13, de la Torre 9, Batungbakal 8, Esteban 6, Bautista 6, del Rosario 5, Albajera 3, Briones 2, Correche 1, Pena 1, Batan 0.

Quarterscores: 20-23, 39-47, 59-63, 73-73, 83-81.

Written By

You May Also Like


Collegiate champions La Salle-Ecooil and Marinerong Pilipino-San Beda continued to dominate the competition in the 2024 PBA D-League Aspirants’ Cup at the Ynares Sports...


Defending champion La Salle-Ecooil and last year’s runner-up Marinerong Pilipino-San Beda got off to flying starts to open their respective campaigns in the 2023...


Reigning champion La Salle-Ecooil and favored Marinerong Pilipino-San Beda loom as heavy favorites as they kick off the 2024 PBA D-League Aspirants’ Cup against...


Reigning champion La Salle-Ecooil and Marinerong Pilipino-San Beda lead the six-team field cast in the 2024 PBA D-League Aspirants’ Cup, set to commence on...


King Gallardo hit a clutch three-point shot in the closing seconds, lifting the New Era University Hunters to a thrilling 63-61 victory over the...


Although many sought to secure his transfer, it was the defending NCAA champions who emerged victorious in the battle. Colegio de San Juan de...


Bacoor squandered a substantial lead and settled for a 91-86 victory against Bacolod in the OKBet-MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) Fifth Season on Monday...


Bacoor and Batangas secured breezy victories, maintaining their lofty spots in the OKBet-MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) Fifth Season at the Bacoor Strike Gym...