Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Rebisco backs PSL Manila for AVC AWCC

For the first time in Philippine Superliga history, the Grand Prix champions will not be representing the Philippines in the Asian Women’s Club Championship.

Instead, the league will send a selection of its finest players to the annual tiff, where all the best Asian club teams will face off from May 23-30 in Kazakhstan.

The Foton Tornadoes, who won the 2016 Grand Prix, opted to drop out due to lack of players.

The Rebisco PSL Manila will be coached by Philippine Team head coach Francis Vicente. Generika’s Bia General and Geneveve Casugod; Petron’s Aiza Maizo-Pontillas, Mika Reyes, Rhea Dimaculangan and Ces Molina; F2 Logistics’ Aby Maraño and Kim Fajardo; Cignal’s Jovelyn Gonzaga and Rachel Daquis; Foton’s Maika Ortiz and Jaja Santiago; Cocolife’s Denden Lazaro; and Sta. Lucia’s Lourdes Clemente make up the squad. They are grouped with Japan’s Hisamitsu Spring, China’s Tianjin Bank, and Vietnam’s Vietinbank.

“This team is stronger and very competitive. The target of our team is to play at the highest level and this will be the first time na puro locals tayo it’s a very good exposure for team,” said PSL President Tats Suzara.

Coincidentally, all these players are also part of the 25-woman Philippine Team pool that is gearing up for August’s SEA Games and Asian Senior’s competition.

“Very competitive yung team. Alam nila yung laro, they have the skills and everything. Di namin tinaasan ang expections basta we will do our best. I want to see discipline and their competitiveness,” said Vicente.

#ReadMore  VTV Cup: Choco Mucho bows to T4-powered Vietnam
Written By

Miguel Luis Flores fell face first into sports writing in high sch9l and has never gotten up. He reluctantly stumbled into the volleyball beat when he started with Tiebreaker Times three years ago. Now, he has waded through everything volleyball - from its icky politics to the post-modern art that is Jia Morado's setting.

You May Also Like

2024 AVC Challenge Cup for Women

Jaja Santiago is confident that Alas Pilipinas Women have what it takes to conquer the 2024 AVC Challenge Cup. Santiago, who is currently undergoing...


Back on April 22, 2018, Jaja Santiago left the SM Mall of Asia Arena in heartbreak. Santiago, then just 22 years old, ended her...


Alyssa Solomon and Jaja Santiago had a moment after National University advanced to the UAAP Season 86 Women’s Volleyball Finals last Wednesday. Following the...


In her very first stint in the Premier Volleyball League, Brooke Van Sickle shone the brightest, winning the 2024 All-Filipino Conference Most Valuable Player...


May 5, 2024, was a testament to how far Philippine volleyball has come in recent years. On a Sunday when both the Premier Volleyball...


Choco Mucho denied Petro Gazz a playoff for the last final spot after taking a four-set, 23-25, 26-24, 25-19, 25-20 victory to enter the...


Creamline became the first team to enter the finals after sweeping Chery Tiggo, 25-16, 25-21, 25-20, in the round-robin semifinals of the 2024 Premier...


Jema Galanza took over in the clutch as Creamline bounced back, taking down Petro Gazz in a tight four-set showdown, 27-25, 23-25, 27-25, 26-24,...