Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


PPS-PEPP: Criscini-Geluz pair dominates Legends in Binan

Renelle Criscini and Aldrin Geluz pulled off a double victory in the PPS-PEPP Legends tennis series, sweeping the 40s and 50s crowns in the Rep. Alonte-Naguiat Championships at the Brent Tennis Center in Binan, Laguna, over the weekend.

Criscini and Geluz toppled Roy Tan and Expedito Lim, 8-2, in the 40s division finals, then turned back Jun Pomer and Mike Sotingco, 8-4, to clinch the 50s trophy and complete a two-title romp in the event held side by side with the national juniors.

On their way to the 40s final, the Criscini-Geluz tandem repelled Jeg Vallido and Sherwin Ordones, 8-5, then crushed Jim Rellona and Justino Buendia, 8-1, and sustained their charge in the 50s, ripping Julius Villavelez and Leovy Mercado, 8-1, and routing Noel Lontok and Bugsy delos Reyes, 8-2.

JD Benitez and Danny Olosim, on the other hand, grabbed the 30s title with a tough 8-6 victory over 40s finalists Tan and Lim. Benitez and Olosim earlier outlasted Gene Angcao and Marlon Barbo, 8-5, and survived Topie Uy and Bryan Saarenas, 8-6.

Arabie Agero and Tracy Bautista, meanwhile, pocketed the lone women’s doubles trophy in the tournament presented by Dunlop and sponsored by Rep. Marlyn Alonte-Naguiat with an 8-2 romp over Brasilla Uy and Joanna Tan.

In juniors play, top seed Jana Diaz and No. 3 Sandra Bautista posted contrasting wins to seal a showdown for the girls’ 18-U crown, with the former blasting Shaira Silva, 6-0, 6-0, and the latter upending second seed Chloe Mercado, 7-5, 4-6, 10-7.

Diaz and Bautista will also dispute the 16-U crown after the former put away Alexie Jarata, 6-1, 6-1, and the latter foiling Mercado in another tight duel, 3-6, 7-6(3), 10-4.

#ReadMore  PPS-PEPP: Arcilla scores 'twinkill' in Brookside Open

No. 4 Ariel Cabaral likewise stunned top seed Vince Serna in the boys’ premier division, carving out a 6-2, 6-3 win for a crack at the title against No. 2 John Kendrick Bona, who got past Kale Villamar, 6-2, 6-0.

Other finalists in the Group I tournament, which drew a record field of 272 and held as part of the country’s longest talent-search put up by Palawan Pawnshop president/CEO Bobby Castro, are Bona and Al Tristan Licayan (boys’ 16), Joy Ansay and Maristella Torrecampo (girls’ 14), Licayan and Lexious Cruz (boys’ 14), Torrecampo and Alexa Cruspero (girls’ 12), Jan Caleb Villeno and Marben Alimarin, Jr. (boys’ 12), and Villeno and Raven Licayan (10-unisex).

Written By

You May Also Like


Jed Olivarez delivered a crucial breakthrough in the early stages and replicated the feat late in the second set, clinching a 6-3, 6-4 victory...


Second-ranked Chelsea Bernaldez secured another victory over No. 1 Sanschena Francisco for the second consecutive time, prevailing with a 6-3, 6-4 decision in the...


Chelsea Bernaldez claimed the girls’ 18-and-under trophy for the second consecutive week and added the 16-and-U crown to her collection, making her the sole...


AJ Lim capped off an impressive week-long display of aggressive tennis by overpowering Fritz Verdad, 6-2, 6-1, in the final to secure the Mayor...


Johnny Arcilla maintained his resolve, drive, and will to win as he secured another Open crown, defeating Jed Olivarez for the second consecutive time,...


Johnny Arcilla recalled his fierce form coming off a recent setback, as he pounded out a 6-3, 6-1 victory over Jed Olivarez to capture...


Brice Baisa maintained his dominant run in the Palawan Pawnshop junior tennis circuit, sweeping the boys’ 16- and 18-and-under crowns in the Zentro National...


Brice Baisa continued his rapid rise to tennis junior fame with another two-title feat even as Kimi Brodeth lived up to the hype in...