Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


NU’s Belen, FEU’s Cajolo to be hailed as UAAP High School Volleyball MVPs

National University’s Mhicaela Belen and Far Eastern University’s Rans Cajolo are set to claim the Most Valuable Player awards in their respective divisions in the UAAP Season 82 High School Volleyball Tournament.

Belen finished the eliminations seventh in the Best Scorers race with 122 points on 98 spikes, 16 service aces, and eight blocks. Moreover, she powered NU to a 12-0 eliminations sweep.

Belen, who will also bag the first Best Outside Hitter, ended second in spiking with 46.89 percent success rate; first in receiving with 35.71-percent efficiency; and ninth in both digging and service.

This is her second MVP title after winning it in Season 80.

UAAP-82-Boys-Volleyball-FEU-def-UST-RANS-CAJOLO NU's Belen, FEU's Cajolo to be hailed as UAAP High School Volleyball MVPs AdU FEU News NU UAAP UE UST Volleyball  - philippine sports news

Cajolo, meanwhile, topped the Best Scorers race in the boys’ division after leading FEU to the top seed with an 11-2 record. He had 191 points built on 150 attacks, 32 blocks, and nine service aces.

He will also pocket the Best Opposite Hitter plum after placing second in spiking with a 44.91 success percentage; and second in blocking with a 0.67 average per set.

NU’s 6-foot-2 blocker Alyssa Solomon will take the Best Opposite Spiker award. Meanwhile, teammate Camilla Lamina will nab her second-straight Best Setter award with 4.53 average per set.

Adamson’s Kate Santiago will be named second Best Outside Hitter, while FEU’s Alexis Miner will claim the first Best Middle Blocker award.

Junior Tigress Bernadett Pepito will bag her fourth consecutive Best Libero plum. Meanwhile, teammates Ela Raagas and Sophia Abbu will get the Rookie of the Year and second Best Middle Blocker awards, respectively.

#ReadMore  Mar Prado drops 39, lifts Adamson to breakthrough win at UE's expense

Baby Tamaraws Benny Martinez and Angelo Lipata will take the Best Setter and second Best Middle Blocker awards, respectively. On the other hand, UST’s Paul Colinares and Rey De Vega will collect the first Best Middle Blocker and second Best Outside Hitter plums.

Rounding out the awardees in the boys’ division are first Best Outside Hitter Francis Babon from UE; and Best Libero Menard Guerrero from the defending champions NU. Junior Warrior Brent Maralit will take Rookie of the Year.

Written By

You May Also Like


The friendship between Bella Belen and Detdet Pepito, despite their schools’ rivalry from high school extending into college, is one to admire. Belen is...


Back on April 22, 2018, Jaja Santiago left the SM Mall of Asia Arena in heartbreak. Santiago, then just 22 years old, ended her...

2024 AVC Challenge Cup for Women

The National University duo of Alyssa Solomon and Bella Belen have declined participation in the 2024 AVC Challenge Cup for Women. The two Lady...


What they lacked in height, they compensated for with heart. That has been the story for University of Sto. Tomas throughout the UAAP Season...

2024 AVC Challenge Cup for Women

National University seniors Alyssa Solomon and Bella Belen are still undecided about their future after leading the Lady Bulldogs to the UAAP Season 86...


Alyssa Solomon paid tribute to her former coaches who enabled her to become the elite prospect that she is today, especially during the crucial...


Alyssa Solomon blossomed as National University’s main weapon in the most important part of the UAAP Season 86 Women’s Volleyball Tournament, earning the Finals...


National University is champion again for the second time in three seasons. Alyssa Solomon and Bella Belen were simply unstoppable as the Lady Bulldogs...