Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


No MVP, Rookie of the Year, Mythical Team for PBA Bubble season

There would be no Most Valuable Player award for the PBA Bubble.

That’s what the league’s board of governors has agreed upon in their meeting Thursday, and will instead hand out a Best Player of the Conference award for the most deserving performer of the 2020 season.

“Napagkasunduan ng lahat ng board, Best Player of the Conference [ang ibibigay],” Commissioner Willie Marcial said.

With this, June Mar Fajardo’s six-year reign as PBA MVP remains alive. He’s been on the throne since 2014 and he may even stretch his dominance next season, where he’s expected to return fully healed from his leg injury.

The 6-foot-10 Cebuano star skipped the 45th season to focus on his recovery from the said injury he incurred earlier this year.

So far, players such as TNT’s 1-2 punch of Ray Parks and Roger Pogoy, Phoenix Super LPG’s leaders in Calvin Abueva and Matthew Wright, and Ginebra’s Stanley Pringle are in the conversation for the top honors.

According to Marcial, the board decided to do away with the traditional awards and instead give out special once since this, after all, is a special season.

“Sabi nila, gawin nating special talaga,” the amiable executive said.

Special naman talaga yung bubble na yan.”

Other special awards to be given are the Outstanding Rookie, and the Special Team which is practically the Mythical Team of the Philippine Cup.

The Samboy Lim Sportsmanship Award and the Most Improved Player plum have been retained, however, according to Marcial.

The league is also looking at the possibility of honoring some of the league’s employees for their sacrifices in the bubble, said Marcial. A special awards night may also be held tentatively in January.

#ReadMore  Robert Bolick confident he can win 3-point tilt: 'Na-apiran ko si Matthew Wright eh'
Written By

Oftentimes on the sidelines. Forever a student of the game. Morayta-bred.

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


ALCANTARA — The Dumaguete Warriors sunk the Tubigon Bohol Mariners, 88-73, to take their first win in the 2021 Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup,...


ALCANTARA — The KCS Computer Specialist-Mandaue City crushed the Tabogon Voyagers, 86-53 in the 2021 Chooks-To-Go Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup, Friday at the Civic...


Players from the Philippine Basketball Association voiced their opinions on the controversial Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup game pitting ARQ Builders-Lapu Lapu and Siquijor. Despite...


ALCANTARA — The MJAS Zenith-Talisay City Aquastars waxed hot from beyond the arc early, then finished strong to manhandle the Dumaguete Warriors, 92-72, in...


ALCANTARA — KCS Computer Specialist-Mandaue City found its groove in the fourth period to break away from Tubigon Bohol and register a 97-71 win...


All 12 teams of the Premier Volleyball League have agreed to move the start of the 2021 Open Conference to the late second quarter...


ALCANTARA — The game between ARQ Builders-Lapu Lapu City and Siquijor in the 2021 Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup has been postponed because of...


ALCANTARA — The MJAS Zenith-Talisay City Aquastars got the jump on the KCS Computer Specialist-Mandaue City and never looked back, authoring a 77-57 beatdown...