Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Kevin Quiambao tops NBTC 24 for UAAP

Nazareth School of National University remains the gold standard in UAAP Boys’ Basketball after being crowned champion for the second straight season.

One of the cornerstones in the Bullpups’ run to a special sweep of Season 82 was graduating big man Kevin Quiambao.

Quiambao was a force at both ends of the floor with his output of 12.6 points, 9.7 rebounds, 1.9 assists, and 1.4 blocks also earning him a seat in the Mythical Team.

The 6-foot-8 center’s consistent play throughout the tournament did not go unnoticed as he has been hailed as the no. 1 player in the Chooks-to-Go SM-National Basketball Training Center (NBTC) 24 for UAAP high school player rankings.

Adamson’s Jake Figueroa placed second after an unforgettable rookie year that saw the runaway Season MVP leading the Baby Falcons back into the semifinals.

Carl Tamayo ranked third and saved his best for last as he was named Finals MVP for the second year in a row.

Ateneo double-double machine Josh Lazaro and FEU-D super scorer Penny Estacio rounded out the top five.

Bismarck Lina of UST finished sixth followed by Blue Eaglet Lebron Lopez.

Completing the top 10 are FEU-D’s Cholo Anonuevo, NS-NU’s Terrence Fortea, and Ateneo’s Fortshky Padrigao.

Below is the final list of the UAAP NBTC 24 rankings:
1. Kevin Quiambao (NS-NU)
2. Jake Figueroa (AdU)
3. Carl Tamayo (NS-NU)
4. Josh Lazaro (AHS)
5. Penny Estacio (FEU-D)
6. Bismarck Lina (UST)
7. Lebron Lopez (AHS)
8. Cholo Anonuevo (FEU)
9. Terrence Fortea (NS-NU)
10. Forthsky Padrigao (AHS)
11. Aldous Torculas (UPIS)
12. Gerry Abadiano (NS-NU)
13. Matt Erolon (AdU)
14. Reyland Torres (NS-NU)
15. Jacob Cortez (UST)
16. CJ Austria (UE)
17. Patrick Sleat (FEU-D)
18. Jorick Bautista (FEU-D)
19. Ernest Felicilda (NS-NU)
20. Kean Baclaan (DLSZ)
21. Joshua Barcelona (AdU)
22. Jordi Gomez de Liaño (UPIS)
23. Ivan Cudiamat (DLSZ)
24. Ian Espinosa (AHS)

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Chooks-to-Go SM-NBTC League National Finals as well as the annual All-Star Game have been postponed and tentatively rescheduled.

#ReadMore  Chabi Yo says Akhuetie match-up was really tough

Originally scheduled to take place from March 21 to 27 at SM Mall of Asia Arena, the event backed by Chooks-to-Go, SMART, Vivo, Darlington, Phoenix Fuels, Epson, Gatorade, Go for Gold, and Molten has been penciled in for April 20 to 26 still at the same venue.

Media partners for the annual event are Cignal and One Sports.

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Besides giving a home to volleyball players, the Premiere Volleyball League and the Spikers’ Turf are turning pro because in five years’ time, University...

3x3 Basketball

CALAMBA, LAGUNA — James Laput is not soft. From his match-ups with Ange Kouame and Bright Akhuetie in the UAAP, to his clashes with...


Kevin Quiambao will never forget January 23, 2019. “Actually, wala na ako maalala sa game na nilaro namin ‘yun, pero ang naaalala ko talaga...


With their senior year in Ateneo High School still up in the air, Grade 12 student-athletes Forthsky Padrigao and Joshua Lazaro remain at peace...


For leading University of the East to its eighth straight championships in the UAAP Men’s Fencing Championships, Sam Tranquilan was hailed as the school’s...


For the past two seasons, Forthsky Padrigao has been a proven scorer for Ateneo High School. Just in UAAP Season 82, the 6-foot guard...


New University of the Philippine recruit Bismarck Lina cleared the air about his decision to leave University of Santo Tomas. The 19-year-old had initially...


University of the Philippines has clear plans for its future.  Though he is eligible for UAAP Season 83, UP head coach Bo Perasol has...