Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


June Mar Fajardo a cinch to win sixth PBA MVP as Perez leads ROY race

The PBA Season 44 MVP derby is down to a slugfest among the season’s Best Player of the Conference winners and the top rookie that wowed the league like a grizzled showman. 

June Mar Fajardo is in line to stretch his record reign as PBA MVP to a sixth straight year. The San Miguel Beer ace behemoth is right in the exciting MVP race versus TNT KaTropa’s Jayson Castro, NorthPort’s Christian Standardinger, and Columbian Dyip’s CJ Perez.

The season’s top performer will be awarded the coveted ware during the Leo Awards that usher in PBA Season 45 inaugurals on March 1.

Fajardo bagged the Philippine Cup BPC award; Castro took the BPC honors in the midseason Commissioner’s Cup; then Standhardinger had his own BPC coronation in the Governors Cup. Meanwhile, Perez contended for the top player award in two conferences.

Stats-wise, Fajardo and Perez lead the pack. The SMB star has piled up a whopping statistical points average of 39.6, while the Columbian Dyip super rookie comes through with 33.47 SPs per game.

Perez even led all comers in scoring, emerging as the league’s new scoring champ with 20.8 ppg. Matthew Wright was a close second with 18.89, followed by Fajardo (18.87).

Castro barely missed the Top Five with 31.5 per outing, while Standhardinger came in 16th with 26.7.

NorthPort’s Sean Anthony (33.46), Ginebra’s Stanley Pringle (31.8) and TNT’s Roger Pogoy (31.7) finished third, fourth and fifth in the stats race, thus putting themselves in good positions to make the Mythical Selections.

Ginebra’s Japeth Aguilar (29.9) came at seventh, followed by Wright (29.0); Magnolia’s Ian Sangalang (28.7); and SMB’s Moala Tautuaa (27.5) to round out the Magic 10.

In the race for the Mythical First Team and Second Team are players in the Top 25.

Others making the list Troy Rosario (TNT), Scottie Thompson (Ginebra), Alex Cabagnot (SMB), Robert Bolick (NorthPort), Rashawn McCarthy (Columbian), Jeron Teng (Alaska), Chris Ross (SMB), Paul Lee (Magnolia), LA Tenorio (Ginebra), Poy Erram (NLEX), Chris Banchero (Magnolia), Arwind Santos (SMB) and Greg Slaughter (Ginebra).

As MVP contender, Perez is the top favorite for the Rookie of the Year award.

His closest rivals are Bolick, Javee Mocon and Bobby Ray Parks.

The Leo Awards also feature the winners of the Most Improved Player, the Sportsmanship Award, and the All-Defensive Team.

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


SMART CLARK GIGA CITY – Barangay Ginebra won both of its back-to-back games as it beat NorthPort, 112-100, in the 2020 PBA Philippine Cup...


SMART CLARK GIGA CITY – Magnolia had its first win streak in the 2020 PBA Philippine Cup following a 102-93 triumph of a fatigued...


Coach Tim Cone simply felt thankful that his players were there to save him as Barangay Ginebra arrested its two-game slide in the 2020...


SMART Clark GIGA City — CJ Perez felt like he was at a family reunion, Tuesday afternoon at the Smart 5G-powered AUF Sports and...


SMART CLARK GIGA CITY – Stanley Pringle willed Barangay Ginebra past Alaska, 87-81, to snap its two-game slide in the 2020 PBA Philippine Cup...


Jayson Castro only played nine minutes in TNT Tropang GIGA’s conquest of NorthPort Batang Pier on Tuesday, which brought them back on track in...


Matthew Wright and Phoenix Super LPG were eager to get back on the right track in the 2020 PBA Philippine Cup, following the stinging...


SMART CLARK GIGA CITY – TNT subdued NorthPort by 25, 112-87, to become the first team to enter the 2020 PBA Philippine Cup quarterfinals...