Connect with us


Foton barges into win column, tops New San Jose



Tiebreaker Times Foton barges into win column, tops New San Jose News PSL Volleyball  Patty Orendain New San Jose Builders Victorias Maika Ortiz Lourdes Clemente Jamela Suyat Foton Toplanders Danna Henson Cindy Imbo 2016 PSL Invitational Cup

The Foton Toplander nailed its first win of the 2016 Philippine Superliga (PSL) Invitational Conference after defeating the New San Jose Builders in four sets, 25-16, 23-25, 25-20, 25-17 last Saturday at the Malolos Sports and Convention Center in the province of Bulacan.

Danna Henson led Foton with 12 points while Patty Orendain followed up with 11 points. In addition, Maika Ortiz had 10 points and 2 blocks while Angeli Araneta had 9 points, 2 blocks and 4 digs.

On the other hand, Jamela Suyat led New San Jose with 16 points while Cindy Imbo chalked up 13 points. In addition, middle blocker Lourdes Clemente had 11 points and 3 blocks.

“Problema kasi namin ang blending kasi ilang days pa lang kami naku-kumpleto, mga five days pa lang,” said Foton assistant coach Ronald Dulay via the league’s official website. “Konting oras pa gaganda pa (ang takbo ng team).”

Taking a peek in the stats, both teams faired evenly. On offense, Foton had 43 attack points while New San Jose had 42. It was also the same in the kill blocks category as Foton had 6 while the New San Jose had 5. In terms of excellent digs and excellent sets, Foton had a slight 20-15 and 20-16 advantage respectively.

The only major difference for the game was the unforced errors committed by both teams. Foton was more efficient as they only had 25 unforced errors while New San Jose had 43.

Up next for Foton will be the F2 Logistics Cargo Movers this coming Tuesday, 6:00 pm, at the Alonte Sports Arena in Binan, Laguna while New San Jose will square off the against the league-leading RC Cola Army Troopers, 4:00 pm, at the same venue.

READ  Jonathan Grey on game-winner: 'Pag sablay panget, 'pag nashoot pogi'

The scores:

Foton (3) – Henson 12, Orendain 11, Ortiz 10, Araneta 9, Dimaculangan 4, Salamagos 2, Estampa 2, Dawson 2, Macatuno 1, Tiangco 1, Bulan 1, Tabaquero (L).

New San Jose (1) – Suyat 16, Imbo 13, Clemente 11, Lara 8, Bravo 2, Cabriana 1, Gual 1, Medalla 1, Condada (L), Gayo (L).