Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


FEU Tamaraws clinch long-awaited Finals return, drop Ateneo

After a near half-decade absence, the Far Eastern University Tamaraws booked a seat in the UAAP Season 81 Men’s Volleyball Finals, eliminating the Ateneo de Manila University Blue Eagles, 21-25, 25-23, 25-22, 25-22, at the SM Mall of Asia Arena.

FEU last made the championship round in Season 75, where they lost to National University. Season 75 was also the last time the Blue Eagles did not make the Finals.

The Blue Eagles had the upper hand early in the first set, building a 16-14 gap and nourishing it until the end. The second frame was a back-and-forth affair ultimately decided by an Ateneo error. The third frame was nearly identical, as FEU also clinched the win with an Ateneo attack error.

Ateneo gave up 24 errors in the second and third frames alone.

FEU controlled the last set, gaining an insurmountable 21-16 lead.

Head coach Rey Diaz lauded his players’ emotional stability through their rough first two sets.

“Kailangan lang talagang kontrolin ‘yung emotions. Kailangan namin i-handle ‘yung pressure para maibalik ‘yung timing. ‘Yung mga maliliit na bagay ‘yung nagiging problema namin kanina,” said Diaz.

“Sobrang thankful kami sa lahat ng sumuporta namin this season. Lahat ng paghihirap ng coaches at players nagsisimula ng magbunga,” he added.

FEU was eliminated last year by Ateneo that still had eventual five-time MVP Marck Espejo.

The Tamaraws were offensively balanced with Jude Garcia tallying 14 points. JP Bugaoan added 13, while captain Richard Solis managed 12. FEU were also stingy with errors, giving up just 25 to Ateneo’s 37.

#ReadMore  PBA D-League: Payosing shows way vs AMA as San Beda clinches semis berth

Tony Koyfman, who played his last match as a Blue Eagle, powered in a game-high 21 points, while Janjan Rivera added 15.

Jasper Tan and Manuel Sumanguid also played their last UAAP game.

The Tamaraws will meet the victor of tomorrow’s NU-Adamson tiff in the Finals which begins on Saturday, next week at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

The Scores

FEU (3) – Garcia 14, Bugaoan 13, Solis 12, Paler 9, Quiel 9, Calado 2, Padon 0, Silang 0, Suarez 0, Barrica (L), Lorenzo (L)

ADMU (1) – Koyfman 21, Rivera 15, Njigha 11, Medalla 10, Glorioso 8, Cuerva 1, Magadia 1, Aguilar 0, Morado.0, Sumanguid (L)

Written By

Miguel Luis Flores fell face first into sports writing in high sch9l and has never gotten up. He reluctantly stumbled into the volleyball beat when he started with Tiebreaker Times three years ago. Now, he has waded through everything volleyball - from its icky politics to the post-modern art that is Jia Morado's setting.

You May Also Like

Beach Volleyball

Reigning UAAP champion University of Santo Tomas, led by Sofiah Pagara and Khy Progella, upended National University’s Honey Grace Cordero and Kat Epa, 16-21,...

Beach Volleyball

The retooled Beach Volleyball Republic on Tour continues to push for a more competitive platform for beach volleyball in the country. Since 2016, the...


Marck Espejo and Jau Umandal will lead Alas Pilipinas Men when they head to Isa Town, Bahrain, from June 2 to 9 for the...


Jude Garcia and Criss Cross made their mark in their maiden conference in the Spikers’ Turf. Garcia recently returned to indoor action after focusing...

2025 FIVB World Men’s Championship

Bryan Bagunas, Marck Espejo, and Jau Umandal will spearhead the 21-man pool of the Philippine men’s national volleyball team for the 2025 FIVB Men’s...


All is well between Cignal star Jau Umandal and Criss Cross ace Jude Garcia after their accidental collision that sent the former to the...


Jude Garcia stood tallest among all as he was hailed as the 2024 Spikers’ Turf Open Conference Most Valuable Player on Friday. The Criss...


Crown defended. Despite losing key members during the offseason, Cignal found ways to recuperate and maneuver every tight set into its favor. Thanks to...