Connect with us


Chiefs sweep Generals for second straight win



Tiebreaker Times Chiefs sweep Generals for second straight win AU EAC NCAA News Volleyball  Zedrick Cilocilo Tonell Arellano Sherwin Meneses Rod Palmero Paolo Lim NCAA Season 92 Men's Volleyball NCAA Season 92 John Cabillan Edmark Meneses EAC Men's Volleyball Benrasid Latip Arellano Men's Volleyball

After slow starts in the first two sets, the Arellano University Chiefs pounced on the Emilio Aguinaldo College Generals in the third frame to get their second straight win of the season, 25-21, 25-22, 25-13, Wednesday morning at the FilOil Flying V Centre.

Team captain Benrasid Latip shared that the Chiefs worked in several aspects to prepare for this game.

“Yung service receive namin finocus namin. Halos lahat rin tinama ng mga coaches namin,” he said.

However, this was not evident as the Generals took the initiative in the first two frames due to their efficient service. This first ball problem made it hard for Arellano to get points.

The former NCAA champions from Taft poured in most of its 11 service aces in the first two frames, with middle hitter Paolo Lim getting six of them in.

Nonetheless, the Legarda-based squad turned things around. “Pinasok lang namin yung service namin, tapos tsaka namin binawi sa service receive,” Latip said.

In the end, Arellano nosed out the opposition to get the 2-0 advantage. The Chiefs, with better floor coverage, converted on the attacks in the final frame to seal the win.

Substitute Christian dela Paz once more finished the match on the service line, which the Generals failed to connect on.

Except for that huge disparity in service aces going EAC’s favor, the Chiefs dominated the attacks, 39 to 22, and the non-scoring skills to clinch the win. Outside hitters Latip and John Cabillan led Arellano with 11 each.

Lim and wing spiker Zedrick Cilocilo paced the Generals with nine markers each.

The Scores:

AU (3) – Cabillan 11, Latip 11, K. Liberato 7, Aliyacyac 6, Domingo 4, Soriano 2, Dela Paz 2, Bajen 1, Meneses 1, Santo 0, Arellano L, Blanco L.

EAC (0) – Cilocilo 9, Lim 9, Miña 8, Gorospe 7, Castellano 1, Rasing 1, Garcia 1, Sebastian L.