Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times
Photo from


Ceres-Negros held to pulsating stalemate by Hanoi in Panaad

Ceres-Negros Football Club can only lament their failure to capitalize on their home soil advantage in the first leg of the ASEAN Zonal semi-finals in the 2019 AFC Cup.

The two-time Philippines Football League champions had to settle for a 1-1 draw against Vietnam’s Ha Noi FC, Thursday evening at the Panaad Stadium in Bacolod City.

After a goalless first half, it was the home side that drew first blood in the contest. Ceres midfielder Stephan Schrock delivered a fantastic ball into the visitors’ box, which striker Bienvenido Marañon headed into goal in the 57th minute.

However, Ceres’ joy was short-lived. 10 minutes later, Ha Noi managed to equalize when Omar Faye took advantage of some uncharacteristically indecisive defending from Risto Vidakovic’s men to score from close range.

With the game hanging in the balance, both sides had late sniffs at goal, which they failed to convert. Ha Noi’s substitute forward Hoang Vu Samson forced a good save from Ceres stopper Roland Muller.

On the other hand, Mike Ott should have won the game for the Busmen in its dying moments, but he failed to hit the target with the goal at his mercy.

The result may have been an anticlimactic outcome for the 2017 ASEAN Zonal champions, but they still have destiny in their hands.

Ceres hope to pull off a win and advance to the next round when they face Ha Noi away at theHang Day Stadium in Hanoi, Vietnam on June 25, 2019, 8:00 PM.

Ceres-Negros XI: Kane, Herrera, Ott, Marañon, Tanton, Porteria, Schrock, Silva, Nazari, Steuble ©, Muller (GK).

#ReadMore  Valdez says playing with a 'tall' setter in Robins-Hardy a new experience

Ha Noi XI: D.V. Hau, Moses, N.V. Quyet ©, T.V. Kien, N.T. Chung, N.Q. Hai, Omar, D.D. Mahn, N.V. Cong (GK), D.H. Dung, Oseni.

Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


The naturalization of Ivorian Angelo Kouame and Spaniard Bienvenido Marañón have been approved by the Philippine Senate, Monday afternoon. The upper chamber of congress...


One of the greatest Filipino football players is staying with the club that he has led in different domestic and international battles.  Four-time Philippines...


Two more hurdles before Spaniard Bienve Marañon becomes a full-fledged Filipino.  Senate Bill 1391 that seeks to naturalize the 34-year-old El Puerto-born striker has...


The naturalization of Ivorian Angelo Kouame and Spaniard Bienve Marañon got the nod of the Senate’s Committee on Justice.  In an online forum headed...


Angelo Kouame’s and Bienve Marañon’s naturalization have cleared their first hurdle. The House of Representatives has approved the naturalization of the Ivorian center and...

Bandwagon Wire

Without a doubt, the year 2020 was a painful one for the whole world because of the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic. Normal human...


Another foreigner is one step closer to representing the Philippines on the international stage. Spanish striker Bienvenido Maranon’s naturalization was also passed by the...


At the start of the year, Stephan Schrock and Bienvenido Maranon wore the historic yellow kits of Ceres-Negros Football Club in the AFC Champions...