Connect with us


BRT Sumisip-St. Clare blasts Marinerong Pilipino to send series to winner-take-all



Tiebreaker Times BRT Sumisip-St. Clare blasts Marinerong Pilipino to send series to winner-take-all Basketball News PBA D-League  Yong Garcia Stevenson Tiu Mohammed Pare Marinerong Pilipino Joshua Fontanilla Jhaps Bautista Jessie Collado Byron Villarias 2019 PBA D-League Second Conference
Photo by PBA Images

BRT Sumisip Basilan-St. Clare exacted revenge on Marinerong Pilipino with a 74-60 Game Two victory to extend the 2019 PBA D-League Foundation Cup Finals, Wednesday at the Cuneta Astrodome in Pasay. 

Jessie Collado made the difference for the Saints, dropping 10 in the Saints’ 15-5 start. He finished with 20 points and six rebounds to force the winner-take-all Game Three.

Joshua Fontanilla also made 14 points, five rebounds, and three assists. Malian slotman Mohammed Pare registered a double-double of 12 points and 10 boards, while Jhaps Bautista chimed in 11 markers in the win.

“Obviously, mas may energy kami ngayon, especially on defense,” said coach Stevenson Tiu, as BRT Sumisip-St. Clare forced Marinerong Pilipino to commit 17 turnovers then turned them to 26 easy points.

The Saints led by as many as 24 points, 46-22, after an Alfred Batino basket with 26.6 seconds left in the second period. They then cruised to the win that snapped the Skippers’ 10-game winning streak and denied them a perfect conference.

Byron Villarias was the only double-digit scorer for Marinerong Pilipino with 11 markers.

The usually high-octane Skippers shot a measly 30-percent from the field, including a 4-of-19 clip from beyond the arc.

It also spoiled the coronation of conference MVP Eloy Poligrates, who only had two points in the defeat.

Game Three is on Monday at Paco Arena in Manila, with the developmental league set to crown a new champion.

The Scores:

BRT Sumisip-St. Clare 74 –– Collado 20, Fontanilla 14, Pare 12, Bautista 11, Batino 8, Gabo 4, Palencia 2, Dumapig 2, Hallare 1, Rubio 0, Penaredondo 0, Manacho 0, Tiquia 0.

READ  Aris Dimaunahan apologizes for outburst: 'It was totally uncalled for'

Marinerong Pilipino 60 — Villarias 11, Clarito 9, Yee 8, Alabanza 8, Santillan 5, Sara 5, Rios 4, Ilagan 4, Poligrates 2, Ayonayon 2, Reverente 2, Diputado 0, Mangahas 0, McAloney 0, Solis 0.

Quarterscores: 23-11, 46-24, 62-43, 74-60.