Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Bagunas a shoo-in as PNVF names 20-man pool for men’s indoor team

Despite not attending the Philippine National Volleyball Federation tryouts last April 29 due to injuries, Bryan Bagunas was named as part of the 20-man pool for the men’s national indoor volleyball team.

“We are presenting the men and women of Philippine volleyball who will do battle in two important tournaments later this year,” PNVF President Tats Suzara told the press conference also attended by his secretary general Donald Caringal, National Team Commission chair Tony Boy Liao and coach Dante Alinsunurin.

Alinsunurin also added that Bagunas, who is nursing an MCL injury, will be available for the national team this July.

Bagunas will be joined by 12 more players from the silver-winning squad from the 30th Southeast Asian Games.

Back for another round of duty were Marck Espejo, Mark Alfafara, John Vic De Guzman, Rex Intal, Kim Malabunga, Francis Saura, Jack Kalingking, Jessie Lopez, Ricky Marcos, Ish Polvorosa, Joshua Retamar, and Joshua Umandal.

Completing the squad are newcomers Ysay Marasigan, Nico Almendras, Joeven Dela Vega, JP Bugauan, Lloyd Josafat, Kim Dayandante, and Manuel Sumanguid.

“The tryouts were a success as many players answered the call,” Suzara said. “But what made the tryouts even more successful was that no one from the players nor from the PNVF was infected by the virus.”

Cut from the pool but attended the tryouts last April 29 were Anthony Ekwenugo, Mark Enciso, Alche Gupiteo, Noel Kampton, Chumason Njigha, Leo Ordiales, Jian Matthee Salarzon, Leo Aringo, Louie Ramirez, John Mark Ronquillo, Kharyl Parce, and Rayver Sison.

The men’s team will begin training for the 31st Southeast Asian Games in June also in Subic. They are also eyeing to join the Asian Men’s Championship set to take place in Japan from September 12 to 19.

#ReadMore  V.League: Espejo plays limited minutes as Tokyo falters vs Toray
Written By

You May Also Like


National University seniors Owa Retamar and Nico Almendras are leaving their fate in the hands of head coach Dante Alinsunurin following their perfect championship...


Joshua Retamar was named UAAP Season 85 men’s volleyball Finals MVP after leading National University to a two-game sweep of University of Santo Tomas....


National University clinched its third consecutive championship by defeating the University of Santo Tomas, 25-20, 25-21, 25-20, to complete a 16-game sweep of the...


University of Santo Tomas’ Josh Ybañez was a runaway winner of the UAAP Season 85 men’s volleyball tournament Most Valuable Player and Rookie of...


Joshua Retamar and Nico Almendras were the calm and composed pillars of National University during the chaotic five-set match against University of Santo Tomas...


National University survived against University of Santo Tomas in a thrilling Game 1 of the best-of-three UAAP Season 85 finals, winning 25-23, 25-22, 21-25,...

32nd SEA Games

Steve Rotter and Jade Disquitado ensured that the Philippine men’s national volleyball team did not leave the 32nd Southeast Asian Games without a victory....

32nd SEA Games

The Philippine men’s national volleyball team concluded its 32nd Southeast Asian Games group stage campaign without a win after losing to Singapore, 23-25, 21-25,...