Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Azkals U22 succumb to Singapore rout in Merlion Cup opener

One error is a team needs to open the floodgates. The Philippine Under-22 Men’s National Football Team learned that lesson the hard way.

The young Azkals’ hopes for a shot at the gold medal in the 2019 Merlion Cup were dashed by host nation Singapore with a 0-3 loss, Friday evening at the Jalan Besar Stadium.

The result relegates the Filipinos to the third-place battle against Indonesia, which lost 1-2 to Thailand in the day’s earlier fixture.

The Singaporeans started aggressively, and immediately put the visitors on the backfoot. Philippines goalie Michael Asong denied skipper Irfan Fandi’s header, only to concede soon afterward after a faulty backpass by one of his defenders set Amiruldin Asraf on his way to score the opener in the 26th minute.

Already down by a goal at the break, the Filipinos suffered further heartbreak come the second period. Irfan made up for his miss earlier in the fixture when he shot past Asong to double the Singaporeans’ lead in the 61st minute and virtually seal the win.

The home side had one more goal in them, though, and it arrived five minutes after Irfan’s strike. It was then Ikhsan Fandi’s turn to join the party as the substitute converted from close range, thanks to a Zikos Chua assist, to put the icing on Singapore’s cake.

With the result, the Filipinos shall face the Indonesians in the bronze medal game on June 9, 2019, at the same venue. Meanwhile, Singapore shall face Thailand for all the marbles on the same day.

Singapore XI: Rohaizad, Sazali, Fandi ©, Tan, Goh, Stewart, Syahin, Mahler, Rezky, Asraf, Pashia.

#ReadMore  Kintaro Miyagi, JB Borlongan braces catapult 'lazy’ UP above Adamson

Philippines XI: Asong (GK), Forrosuelo, Frigillano, Marzan, Gayoso, Clarino ©, Sanciangco, Saldivar, Vergara, Saavedra, Suba.

Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


University of the Philippines dug deep to get its first win in the UAAP Season 82 Men’s Football Tournament. The Fighting Maroons emerged victorious...


University of the Philippines made the most of its biggest scoring opportunity in the match, and it was enough to earn a winning start....


Without Jarvey Gayoso, Julian Roxas, and Jeremiah Rocha, defending champion Ateneo still found a way to escape defeat.  The Blue Eagles earned a 1-1...


CARMONA, CAVITE — Over 38 matches spanning all three seasons of the PFF Women’s League, De La Salle University had evaded defeat. But that...

2019 SEA Games

BIÑAN, LAGUNA — The Philippine Under-22 Men’s National Football Team left everything on the pitch, but it just was not enough. With one eye...

2019 SEA Games

The past few years have seen the Philippine Azkals blessed with some of the best goalkeepers in the region. The likes of Neil Etheridge...

2019 SEA Games

After the Philippine Under-22 National Men’s Football Team succumbed to Myanmar in their second game of the Men’s Football Tournament of the 2019 SEA...

2019 SEA Games

As one of the two senior members in the Philippine Under-22 National Men’s Football Team, Stephan Schrock knows that players must be prepared to...