Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times

Beach Volleyball

Army’s Gonzaga-Bautista, Navy’s Madsaini-Medino reign supreme

RC Cola-Army A’s Jovelyn Gonzaga and Nene Bautista defeated Foton’s Cherry Rondina and Patty Orendain in a tightly contested match, 21-18, 18-21, 15-13 to reign supreme in the 2016 PSL Beach Volleyball Challenge Cup women’s final Sunday at the Sands SM By The Bay in Manila.

Down 10-7 in the third set, Army rallied back behind powerful hits by Gonzaga. Errors from Foton knotted the count at 12 apiece, before Army took the 13-12 lead after Orendain failed to send her cut shot across the net.

But Rondina tied the set at 13 apiece after scoring off the block, but Gonzaga’s spike pushed Army at championship point. Another error by Foton gave Army the title. Army finished the tournament with an undefeated record.

The championship is the first major beach volleyball crown for the multi-titled indoor veterans Bautista and Gonzaga.

“Parang nakakapanibago. Kasi ilang taon na rin kami hindi naglalaro,” Bautista said. “Pero malaking bagay na nag-partner na kami dati; alam namin yung kakayanan ng isa’t isa.”

Foton targeted Bautista with sharp services in the first set, but the strategy backfired as Bautista made Foton pay with powerful spikes. A Bautista hit made it 19-15 for Army in the opening set, but an error by Gonzaga followed by a hit from Rondina made it 19-17.

Bautista then pushed Army at set point, even as Gonzaga scored the point which enabled Army to take the first set, 21-18.

Teams went back and forth as well in the second set, but back to back spikes by Orendain broke a 17-all deadlock and gave Foton a 19-17 edge. Orendain and Rondina each scored after that to equalize, 21-18.

#ReadMore  Talon parts ways with Gabby, Fly

“Sobrang gaan, walang excess baggage, walang mabigat, kasi alam mong andyan siya, susuportahan ka maski nagkakamali ka,” Gonzaga said.

“Kahit nagkaka-errors na ako, never niya ako binlame. Siguro yun ang maganda sa team-up namin. Kilala na namin yung isa’t isa, alam na namin paano i-motivate yung isa’t isa.”

FEU cops 3rd place

In the battle for third place, FEU’s Kyla Atienza and Bernadeth Pons defeated Petron XCS’ Bang Pineda and Aiza Maizo-Pontillas, 21-12, 21-13 to secure the bronze medal.

FEU broke loose in the first set, thanks to well-placed shots from Atienza which pushed the lead up to 11-7. Back to back hits by Pons followed by an ace doubled the lead, 16-8, as FEU cruised to take the opening set.

The duo then opened the second set on a 6-0 run to take control. Petron had a difficult time against FEU’s sharp services, as FEU pulled away to win.

Navy A cops men’s crown

In the men’s final, Philippine Navy A’s Nur-amin Madsairi and Roldan Medino fended off a brave challenge from the resilient TVM’s Kris Roy Guzman and Anthony Arbasto to capture the gold after a 21-13, 11-21, 18-16 win.

After Navy A easily took the first set, 21-13, TVM capitalized on errors and pulled away in the second set, 15-7. A spike by Guzman made it 20-11 before Madsairi’s attack sailed out, sending the match to extension.

Back to back hits by Arbasto gave TVM the upperhand in the third set, 11-10. Guzman pushed the lead up to 13-10 after back to back scores of his own, but Navy scored three straight to tie it at 13.

#ReadMore  NLEX still waiting for PBA clearance to allow Kiefer to play in PH Cup

TVM then had chances to close the match out, going up 15-14. However, TVM committed a violation, which led to a spike from Madsairi as Navy took a 16-15 lead. Arbasto managed to tie the set at 16 apiece, but his service touched the antenna, giving Navy championship point. Madsairi ended the match with a powerful kill.

Written By

You May Also Like


Akari continues to build up its roster for its second conference in the PVL. The Power Chargers have signed opposite hitter Eli Soyud and...

Beach Volleyball

SUBIC — Sisi Rondina and Jovelyn Gonzaga beat Genesa Jane “Gen” Eslapor and Floremel Rodriguez, 22-24, 21-12, 15-12, in a three-set women’s final of...

Beach Volleyball

SUBIC—Sisi Rondina and Jovelyn Gonzaga and Gen Eslapor and Dij Rodriguez disposed of their respective foes from Japan on Saturday to guarantee the Philippines...

Beach Volleyball

SUBIC—Sisi Rondina and Jovelyn Gonzaga didn’t only eliminate opponents from Canada and the Czech Republic, but more importantly, beat the pressure to win at...

Beach Volleyball

Brazilian Joao Luciano Kiodai was added to the Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF) national team program to handle the beach volleyball squads, according to...


Petro Gazz showed nerves of steel to outlast Cignal in three tight sets, 25-21, 27-25, 37-35, to move on the verge of the 2022...


Creamline moved a win away from the 2022 Premier Volleyball League Reinforced Conference third place after trouncing Chery Tiggo, 25-22, 22-25, 25-5, 25-19, at...


Petro Gazz ran away with a four-set win to keep its finals hope alive as Cignal clinched the first finals seat despite the loss,...