Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Eugene Torre, Jan Fronda headline first-ever PCAP Draft

Stars of past and present will come together in the first-ever Professional Chess Association of the Philippines draft on Sunday.

The online draft will see the Antipolo Cobras pick first.

And it’s most likely that Asia’s first-ever GM Eugene Torre will be picked as the top overall pick.

Over at the women’s side, UAAP Season 76 Athlete of the Year Jan Fronda headlines the cast.

Holding the second pick are the Iloilo Kisela Knights.

Other GM’s entering the draft are Joey Antonio, Ino Sadorra, Banjo Barcenilla, Darwin Laylo, John Paul Gomez, Mark Paragua, and Roland Salvador.

Fronda, on the other hand, is joined by Bernadette Galas, Catherine Secopito, Marie Antoinette Secopito, Cherry Ann Mejia, Cristy Lamiel Bernales, Rowelyn Joy Acedo, Mira Mirano, Carmelita Abanes, Karen Jay Enriquez, among others.

IMs Paulo Bersamina, Jan Emmanuel Garcia, Ricky De Guzman, Cris Ramayrat, Angelo Young, Oliver Dimakiling, Marvin Miciano, Eric Labog, Barlo Nadera, Joel Pimentel and comebacking IMs Rico Mascarinas, Domingo Ramos, Rolando Nolte, and Vince Alaan are also eligible.

Picking third are Team Quezon City followed by Team Iriga, Negros Kingsmen, Cordova Cutchess Dagami Warriors, Rizal Batch Towers, San Juan Predators, Mindoro Tamaraws, Lapu-Lapu City Naki Warriors, Surigao Fianchetto Checkmates, Manila Indios Bravos, Camarines Soaring Eagles, Olongapo Rainbow Team 7, Team Cabuyao, Toledo City Chess Miners, Team Cagayan, Team Zamboanga, Team General Trias, Isabela Knight Raiders, Cebu City Chess Masters, Caloocan Loadmanna Knights, Pasig City King Pirates, and Team Palawan.

Each team will have three homegrown players, two rated players, and one lady and senior.

#ReadMore  Dehesa sparks, Pasaol finishes as Balanga gets back at Pasig in MelMac Cup

The first-ever season is expected to have three conferences, Open, All-Filipino, and Reinforced.

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Mindoro will have another team to represent them. Besides its Tamaraws team that will compete in the 2021 Chooks-to-Go MPBL Mumbaki Cup, Mindoro will...


Historic was the year 2020 for professional sports. Besides mainstays Philippine Basketball Association and Philippines Football League, many sporting leagues chose to embrace professional...


As expected, Asia’s first-ever Grandmaster Eugene Torre was the first overall pick in the inaugural Professional Chess Association of the Philippines Draft, held at...


The Games and Amusements Board (GAB) achieved another historic milestone, as professional sports icons, government leaders, professional athletes, coaches, trainers, sports stakeholders, and sports...

3x3 Basketball

A day after Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas 3×3 was granted pro status by the Games and Amusement Board, Commissioner Eric Altamirano immediately buckled down to work. ...


Mindoro will be younger, faster, and stronger in the next Chooks-to-Go Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League season. Team owner Justin Tan gave this assurance after...

2019 SEA Games

The gold medal winners of the 30th Southeast Asian Games banner the long list of citations to be handed out during the SMC-PSA (Philippine...


Caloocan-Victory Liner ended its 2019-20 Chooks-to-Go/MPBL Lakan Season with a tight 93-90 win over Mindoro-JAC Liner, Wednesday at the Caloocan Sports Complex. Carlo Escalambre...