Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Alfrancis Chua to receive second PBA Executive of the Year plum

The man behind another Ginebra title romp in the PBA Governors Cup will be recognized with one of the major honors at the 2022 PBA Press Corps Awards Night on June 21 at the Novotel Manila Araneta Center.

Team governor Alfrancis Chua is the recipient of the season’s Danny Floro Executive of the Year following the work he did with the Kings in Season 46, which saw the franchise win the import-laden conference for the fourth time in the last five years.

This marks the second time the Ginebra executive will receive the award named after the late amiable Crispa Redmanizers team manager and owner Danny Floro.

Chua, who is also San Miguel Corporation sports director, first won the plum in 2018.

He now joins the likes of SMC president and chief executive officer Ramon S. Ang, First Pacific Company Ltd managing director and chief executive officer Manny V. Pangilinan, current PBA chairman Ricky Vargas, Alaska team owner Wilfred Uytengsu, the late commissioner Jun Bernardino, and former RFM franchise team manager Elmer Yanga as among the two-time recipients of the award handed out by the men and women regularly covering the PBA beat.

Hampered by injuries to key players Joe Devance, Aljon Mariano, Jared Dillinger, and later on Japeth Aguilar, the Kings found their title retention bid in jeopardy after ending up seeded no. 6 heading to the playoffs of the season-ending meet.

But behind Best Import Justin Brownlee and emerging star and Best Player of the Conference Scottie Thompson, the Kings thrived on and overcame twice-to-beat and reigning Philippine Cup champion TNT in the quarterfinals, before defeating NLEX in the semis to advance in the best-of-seven title series.

#ReadMore  Pagdanganan off to good start in Meijer Classic

The consensus underdogs against the souped-up Meralco Bolts, the Kings again defied the odds and beat their long-time nemesis, 4-2, to keep their stranglehold of the conference they first won in 2016.

Chua joins the season’s honor roll along with Arwind Santos (Defensive Player of the Year), June Mar Fajardo (Comeback Player of the Year), Allein Maliksi (Quality Minutes), Mikey Williams (Scoring Champion), Joshua Munzon, Jamie Malonzo, Calvin Oftana, Williams, and Santi Santillan (All-Rookie Team), the quartet of Williams, Ian Sangalang, Robert Bolick, and Matthew Wright (Order of Merit) and teams San Miguel and NorthPort (Game of the Season).

The choice for the Virgilio ‘Baby’ Dalupan Coach of the Year is yet to be announced, with champion mentors Chot Reyes of TNT and Tim Cone of Barangay Ginebra contending for the award.

Written By

You May Also Like


Scottie Thompson will miss 2-3 weeks of Ginebra’s PBA Season 48 Commissioner’s Cup campaign due to a swollen left knee. Head coach Tim Cone...


LA Tenorio hopes to have inspired others following his much-awaited PBA return on Sunday night after several months of battling and beating cancer. The...


Ginebra gave LA Tenorio the welcome he deserves by way of a 110-99 victory over Terrafirma to continue their winning ways in the PBA...


LA Tenorio is set to make his return to Ginebra San Miguel on Sunday. The beloved 39-year-old guard was activated by the Gin Kings...

3x3 Basketball

TNT weathered Ginebra’s late-game flurry, 19-17, to banner the semis picture of the PBA 3×3 Season 3 Second Conference Grand Finals, Monday at the...

3x3 Basketball

Blackwater sent Terrafirma packing, 21-17, to sweep its way to the knockout quarterfinals of the PBA 3×3 Season 3 Second Conference Grand Finals, Monday...


Ralph Cu didn’t expect to log extended minutes in Barangay Ginebra’s gritty win over Blackwater in Sunday night’s PBA Season 48 Commissioner’s Cup action....


Ginebra erased an early deficit and then hung on to beat Blackwater, 90-87, to come out triumphant in another tough assignment in the PBA...