Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times

2022 AFF Women’s Championship

AFF: Eggesvik scores wonder goal as Filipinas sink Malaysia for third straight win

The Philippine Women’s National Football Team continued their faultless campaign in the 2022 AFF Women’s Championship with a resounding 4-0 win over Malaysia, Friday evening, at the Rizal Memorial Stadium in Manila.

Sara Eggesvik, who was brought on for the injured Kaya Hawkinson 10 minutes into the contest, unleashed a spectacular long-range effort that was adjudged to have narrowly crossed the line despite the best efforts of Malaysian goalkeeper Nurul Azurin Mazlan in the 32nd minute.

Katrina Guillou then scored the Filipinas’ second goal in the 43rd minute from close range to set them on their way to victory.

Come the second half, Quinley Quezada scored a header in the 48th minute while substitute midfielder Anicka Castaneda added her name to the scoresheet in the 73rd minute.

Former UAAP and Ateneo de Manila University standout Cam Rodriguez reached the milestone of 40 appearances for the Philippines when she was brought on in place of Eva Madarang at the 77th minute.

The result means that the Filipinas extend their perfect start to the tournament with 9 points behind three straight wins. On the other hand, Malaysia still has 2 points on the back of two draws and a loss.

We scored some goals and we won the game but I think we lacked a little bit of rhythm,” said coach Alen Stajcic. “We gotta stay humble and keep our feet on the ground and you gotta appreciate the difficulty of each match.

Tonight wasn’t an easy match. Tonight was a very long drawn-out match. Frustrating a time. There’s a lot to work on and a lot to improve.

#ReadMore  'Di naman ako lifesaver ng NU': Napa credits Capacio, Tanquingcen, staff for resurgence

Both teams will return on Sunday. The Philippines takes on Indonesia at 7:00 PM in Rizal Memorial while Malaysia goes up against Thailand at 7:00 PM in the Binan Football Stadium.

Malaysia XI: Mazlan (GK), Soberi, Jumilis, Jerus, Mailu, Singh ©, Azmi, Abidin, Nordin, Azizan, Aidi.

Philippines XI: Fontanilla (GK), Sawicki, Annis ©, Hawkinson, Frilles, Harrison, Madarang, Quezada, Guillou, Alcantara, Cowart.

Catch the entire 2022 AFF Women’s Championship live on SMART Sports and Puso Pilipinas from July 4-18.

Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

You May Also Like


As defending champion Far Eastern University romped University of the Philippines 4-1 last Saturday in the UAAP Season 86 Women’s Football Tournament, there was...


Filipinas head coach Mark Torcaso made sure to touch base with the local football scene during the few days he visited the country. The...


ANGIE Beard’s goal was not enough as the Filipinas succumbed to South Korea anew 2-1 in an international friendly Monday at the Icheon Sports...


The Filipinas suffered a 3-0 defeat at the hands of South Korea in an international friendly Friday at the Icheon Sports Complex. Choe Yuri,...


In a rematch of last year’s final, Tiffany Trinidad’s late goal sealed a dramatic 3-2 victory for 10-woman Far Eastern University against De La...


Shai del Campo netted a brace, leading De La Salle University’s 5-1 rout of University of Santo Tomas to remain on top of the...


At long last, Anicka Castañeda finally made her debut for De La Salle University. It was a debut to remember, as La Salle walloped...


The Philippine Women’s National Football Team concluded its campaign in the 2024 Pinatar Cup with a 0-1 defeat to Slovenia in the third-place game...