Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times
PVL Men IEM vs. Army – Torres-7286
PVL Men IEM vs. Army – Torres-7286


Army ends season with win over IEM

By: Ohmer Bautista

The Philippine Army Troopers eluded a meltdown to salvage a win at the expense of IEM Phoenix Volley Masters, 25-18, 25-23, 22-25, 25-27, 16-14, to end their season on a high note in the Premier Volleyball League Reinforced Conference Quarterfinals at the Filoil Flying V Centre.

“Talagang underdog ‘yung team ko,” Army head coach Rico de Guzman expressed. “Kahit maliit ang mga ‘yan, hindi kami sumusuko.

“Masaya ako kasi kahit papaano, ‘yung last game namin, nanalo kami,” he added.

The Troopers took the first set convincingly, then fought tooth-and-nail in the ensuing one to bury the Volley Masters in a 0-2 disadvantage.

IEM, however, started the third set with renewed vigor, extending the game to a fourth set.

Knotted at 25-all in the nip-and-tuck fourth frame, a Eden Canlas off-the-block hit before a costly PJ Rojas attack that sailed wide forged a decisive fifth set.

Riding on the momentum in the final set, IEM planted a seven-point gap, 10-3. But Army remain composed as they uncorked a 9-2 blitz to tie things up, 12-all.

After trading points, 14-all, a Joshua Barrica off-the-block hit and and a Canlas error sealed the game for good.

Army had four troopers in double figures with Rojas leading the way with 16. Benjaylo Labide, Jaidal Abdulmajid, and Antonio Torres added 15, 12, and 11 markers respectively.

IEM skipper Greg Dolor notched 14. While Canlas and Rudy Gatdula added 10 apiece.

Both Army and IEM will now officially exit the tournament with a 1-2 and 0-3 record, respectively.

The Scores:

Army (3) – Rojas 16, Labide 15, Abdulmajid 12, Torres 11, Baloaloa 9, Reyes 9, Ramirez 7, Depamaylo J. 4, Barrica 3, Villonson 0, Bayking 0, Depamaylo N. 0, Uy (L).

#ReadMore  Creamline enters Finals for first time, shuts down deflated Pocari Sweat-Air Force

IEM (2) – Dolor 14, Canlas 10, Gatdula 10, Conde 6, Presnede 5, Macalma 5, Sapida 5, Castel 3, Timbal 2, Enciso 2, Arroyo 0, Almario (L).

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


With women’s volleyball players finally having a professional league in the PVL, next up is men’s volleyball. According to Sports Vision president Ricky Palou,...


VIGAN — George Oconer was crowned as the LBC Ronda Pilipinas king, while his squad Standard-Insurance was the team champion as the 10th anniversary...


BAGUIO CITY — George Oconer of Standard Insurance-Navy stuck with the 10-man group that checked in first in Stage Eight to virtually clinch the...


PALAYAN CITY, Nueva Ecija — Jan Paul Morales of Standard Insurance-Navy claimed his second straight stage victory, while teammate George Oconer retains his hold...


TARLAC CITY—Standard Insurance-Navy continued to show its a cut above the rest as skipper Jan Paul Morales topped Stage Six while virtually clinching the...


LUCENA — Mark Julius Bordeos of Bicycology-Army reclaimed the individual lead even as Standard Insurance-Navy dominated Stage Four with a 1-2-3 finish to regain...


NAGA CITY — Jerry Aquino, Jr. of Scratch It came through with a race of his life as he topped Stage Three and snatched...


SORSOGON — Mark Julius Bordeos of Bicycology-Army made his presence felt, coming out of nowhere to rule the opening stage of the LBC Ronda...