Connect with us


Saint Benilde blazes FEU to inch closer to semis berth



Tiebreaker Times Saint Benilde blazes FEU to inch closer to semis berth CSB FEU News PVL Volleyball  Vince Abrot Saint Benilde Men's Volleyball Roniey Adviento RJ Paler Rey Diaz Kevin Magsino JP Bugaoan FEU Men's Volleyball Bryan Dumaran Arnold Laniog 2018 PVL Season 2018 PVL Men's Collegiate Conference

The College of Saint Benilde Blazers outlasted the Far Eastern University Tamaraws in five sets, 23-25, 11-25, 25-17, 25-17, 15-11, to carve out their fourth win of the 2018 Premier Volleyball League Collegiate Conference and stay in the hunt for a semifinals seat, Wednesday afternoon at the FilOil Flying V Centre.

After squandering the first set and being dominated in the second, the Taft-based squad turned to their reception and passing to build comfortable leads in the next three sets.

The UAAP side tried to mount comebacks through scoring runs off former captain JP Buagoan and current skipper RJ Paler, but the persistent floor defense of CSB made it difficult for FEU to continue their momentum.

Despite having the chance to go through to the next round, head coach Arnold Laniog of the Blazers reiterated their main purpose. “From the start, ang goal talaga namin this PVL is ma-develop yung chemistry. Minsan nawawala sila, pero unti-unti nagiging in line na kami sa isa’t isa.”

Great service game propelled the green-shirts to the win, with wing spikers Owen Bacani and Ruvince Abrot providing three aces each. The outside hitters ended up leading their squad with 12 and 16 markers, respectively.

Bugaoan and Paler finished with 16 and 15 to lead FEU.

CSB (5-3) will face the Adamson University Soaring Falcons (4-3) in a crucial match on Saturday, August 25 at 11 am. On the other hand, the Tamaraws (4-4) will likewise shoot for a possible playoff berth the following day against the University of the Philippines Fighting Maroons (4-3) also at 11 am on Sunday.

The Scores:

READ  Rosie Rosier relishing starting role with championship-hungry UP

CSB 3 – Abrot 16, Adviento 15, Bacani 12, Basilan 11, De Sequera 9, Magsino 6, Almonte 0, Rojas 0, San Miguel 0, Dy L, Dumaran L.

FEU 2 – Bugaoan 16, Paler 15, Quiel 13, Calado 8, Bautista 5, De Asis 4, Fernandez 1, Laganina 0, Jungco 0, Barrica L, Lorenzo L.