Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Xiandi Chua, John Neil Paderes complete PSI Nationals treble

CAPAS, Tarlac — Xiandi Chua went out of the thrilling women’s 100-meter freestyle victorious and captured a sweep of her three events at the conclusion of the 2021 Philippine Swimming, Inc. National Selection bubble at the New Clark City Aquatics Center here, Sunday.

A 20-year-old standout from the All-Star Swim Club, Chua emerged fastest in the field with a time of 59.68, the only one under a minute among all ten swimmers.

Camille Buico of Rising Atlantis Swim Club edged out QC Buccaneers’ Chloe Daos for second place in 1:00.34 – just 0.01 seconds ahead of the latter.

“My times in this meet weren’t really good because my times went up,” said Chua, who hails from San Juan City. “But I think it’s a nice opportunity to race again because I was able to see where I’m actually at and how I can I improve on it in training.”

2021-PSI-National-Team-Tryouts-John-Niel-Paderes-2114 Xiandi Chua, John Neil Paderes complete PSI Nationals treble News Swimming  - philippine sports news

John Neil Paderes completed a treble after taking all three backstroke events. The 19-year-old from BEST Main took the men’s 50-meter backstroke in 27.77 seconds. Meanwhile, Ace Seawolves’ Shayne Lugay topped the women’s side in 32.32 seconds.

Miguel Barreto ended his stint on top after taking the win in the men’s 100-meter freestyle in 53.52, 0.07 seconds faster than De La Salle Zobel’s Sacho Ilustre. The 18-year-olf from Ayala Harpoons earlier powered through the men’s 800-meter freestyle with a time of 8:48.39, way ahead of Ateneo Blue Knights Swim Club’s Joshua Del Rio’s 9:15.80.

Hannah Sanchez also bagged a double of the long-distance races after winning the women’s 800-meter freestyle. The 17-year-old from All-Star Swim Club touched at 9:57.36.

#ReadMore  PSI returns home to Yldefonso Swimming Complex for National Open

BEST Main’s Jordan Lobos and Ayala Harpoons’ Thanya Dela Cruz bested their fields in the men’s and women’s 200-breaststroke events with times of 2:21.49 and 2:43.44, respectively.

Another BEST Main standout, Ivan Radovan, ruled the men’s 200-meter butterfly with a time of 2:13.71.

Daos averted a personal shutout as she bested BEST Main’s Michaela Mojdeh in the women’s side at 2:22.57 against the latter’s 2:25.22.

The three-day event was supported by the Philippine Sports Commission, the Bases Conversion and Development Authority, and the Clark Development Corporation.

Grew to appreciate various sports from tennis to judo. True-maroon kiddo since the new millennium. Fanboy. Singer. Occasional sports writer.

You May Also Like


This UAAP Season 85 for Thanya Dela Cruz was all about overcoming her fears. And the 5-foot-6 prodigy rose above them. Dela Cruz broke...


De La Salle University ended a 19-year drought or since taking back-to-back titles in seasons 66 and 65 — ending the UAAP Season 85...


Ateneo de Manila University annexed a seventh consecutive title in UAAP men’s swimming after finishing strong on the final day of the Season 85...


Ateneo de Manila University pulled through still in a tight battle against De La La Salle University and University of the Philippines with 300...


On a day of fallen records, De La Salle University and Ateneo de Manila University kept their hold of the top spot of the...


Xiandi Chua proved that the hype was worth it during her most-awaited debut as she carried De La Salle University into the early lead...


The Philippines has suffered from an exodus of great sporting talents in the past couple of years, the most notable of which is chess...


A successful sports program at the national level is marked by having the best talents willing and available to train and, eventually, compete for...