Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


UP seals second consecutive Filoil crown against La Salle

University of the Philippines hit two birds with one stone in San Juan on Wednesday: securing their title retention and maintaining an unbeaten run in the Filoil EcoOil 17th ECJ Preseason Cup.

This victory came after the Maroons fought back from a 20-point deficit to thwart their familiar foe, De La Salle University, 69-66.

State U fell victim to the Green Archers’ 29-6 second-quarter barrage, falling behind 23-43.

However, Gerry Abadiano steered the team out of rough waters. Responding with a 46-point second half, they clinched their second consecutive championship in the preseason tournament co-presented by Bostik El Heneral and ABC Tile Adhesive, with Smart Sports, Strong Group Athletics, and Hanes as major sponsors.

2024-FILOIL-DLSU-vs.-UP-UP-3 UP seals second consecutive Filoil crown against La Salle Basketball CSJL DLSU FEU News UP  - philippine sports news

“Nung halftime, sabi sa amin, ‘di kami nakaka-shoot and nawawala rin yung depensa namin. Buti pagbalik namin ng second half, binounce back namin yun,” said Abadiano.

“Para sa akin lang, wag kami tumigil, tuloy-tuloy lang sa pag-improve.”

Abadiano finished with 12 points, earning him the Puso Pilipinas Finals MVP honors.

JD Cagulangan added 13 points, five rebounds, and four assists, while Francis Lopez contributed eight points, 12 rebounds, two assists, and two steals.

Cagulangan and Lopez were also named to the Puso Pilipinas Mythical Five, alongside Far Eastern University and Colegio de San Juan de Letran impact rookies Veejay Pre and Jonathan Manalili, as well as La Salle’s Kevin Quiambao.

Quiambao, the Smart Sports Season MVP, led his team with a 14-point, 10-rebound double-double but missed two crucial three-pointers in the last seven minutes.

CJ Austria also added 14 points for the Green Archers, who settled for silver in the preseason showcase.

#ReadMore  Olsen Racela steps down as FEU head coach

This event was also supported by Athletics as the official outfitter and Molten as the official game ball, along with minor sponsors Reyes Barbecue, KFC, Brothers Burger, Wallem Philippines Shipping, Harbor Star Shipping Services, and Akari for the second year in a row.

2024-FILOIL-FEU-vs.-CSJL-J.-Bautista UP seals second consecutive Filoil crown against La Salle Basketball CSJL DLSU FEU News UP  - philippine sports news

FEU secured the bronze medal after weathering Letran’s late comeback, 80-78.

Jorick Bautista top-scored for the Tamaraws with 21 points, three assists, and three rebounds.

He had support from Royce Alforque with 19 points, seven rebounds, four assists, and four steals, and Veejay Pre with a 13-point, 10-rebound double-double.

“Even this third place is huge for us. It’s a place for us to grow, so we have to go in steps,” said first-year FEU coach Sean Chambers.

The Tamaraws held a 17-point advantage, 47-30, in the second quarter, but the Knights, led by Deo Cuajao and Manalili, battled back to a two-point deficit, 78-80, with five seconds remaining.

Letran had a chance to force overtime when Charles Dimaano stole the ball from Bautista, but the promising freshman failed to capitalize as time expired.

Cuajao led the Knights with 27 points and five rebounds. Manalili followed with 15 points and seven assists, while Dimaano added 10 points.

Rounding out the Athletics All-Tournament Team were Harold Alarcon (UP), Jonnel Policarpio (La Salle), Jedrick Daa (FEU), Allen Liwag (College of St. Benilde), and Jomel Puno (San Beda University).

In the Hanes 1-on-1 King of the Hardcourt, Benilde’s Ian Torres claimed the crown after defeating Letran’s Stephen Garupil, 14-4, in the final.

His hot shooting earned him the P20,000 cash prize, making him the second Blazer to win the crown after Prince Carlos, who won the inaugural tournament in 2018.

#ReadMore  National U eliminates State U

The Scores:

Third Place Match
FEU 80 — Bautista 21, Alforque 19, Pre 13, Konateh 11, Bagunu 6, Daa 5, Ona 3, Godinez 2, Buenaventura 0, Taboctaboc 0, Gordon 0, Felipe 0, Montemayor 0, Beato 0
Letran 78 — Cuajao 27, Manalili 15, Dimaano 10, Go 8, Galoy 5, Baliling 5, Montecillo 3, Pradela 3, Ariar 2, Jumao-As 0, Nunag 0, Garupil 0, Tangkay 0, Alarcon 0, Brillantes 0
Quarterscores: 24-17, 49-38, 62-67, 80-78

UP 69 Cagulangan 13, Abadiano 12, Alarcon 9, Ududo 9, Lopez 8, Torres 7, Torculas 7, Felicilda 2, Alter 2, Stevens 0, Walker 0, Bayla 0, Briones 0, Belmonte 0, Tan 0
DLSU 66 — Quiambao 14, Austria 14, Ramiro 7, Agunanne 7, Gollena 7, Dungo 6, Policarpio 4, Macalalag 3, Marasigan 2, Cortez 2, Zamora 0, Buenaventura 0, Gaspay 0, Abadam 0, Rubico 0, Alian 0
Quarterscores: 17-14, 23-43, 48-53, 69-66

Written By

You May Also Like


Tim Cone and Sean Chambers never lost the bond they forged during their days with the Alaska franchise, a partnership that led to six...


Adamson and National University completed their group phase sweeps in the 2024 ANTA Asiabasket International Championship on Saturday at the Enderun Colleges Gym in...


The Anta Asiabasket International Championship will tip off at Enderun Colleges from July 9 to 16. This thrilling event will feature top-tier competition among...


Mason Amos broke his silence four days after his transfer to De La Salle University. The 19-year-old Fil-Australian is currently in Latvia with Gilas...


Quentin Millora-Brown’s move to the University of the Philippines is more than just introducing himself to the Philippine audience – it’s about continuing a...


With De La Salle University securing numerous recruits, some of its pool players have opted to transfer schools. James Nacua, Jake Gaspay, and Ernest...


University of the Philippines’ big-time plans for a big-time bounce back in UAAP Season 87 just got a big-time boost. Six-foot-10 Filipino-American Quentin Millora-Brown...


After one year at Ateneo de Manila University, Mason Amos is making a move. The 6-foot-7 all-around forward is set to transfer to De...