Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Jessie Lacuna, Aldo Batungbacal flex muscles as Ateneo widens lead

In the longest match day of the 80th UAAP Swimming Championships, the defending champions Ateneo de Manila University Blue Eagles continued to pile up the medals by ruling all five individual events, and adding three silver and bronze medals each.

De La Salle University managed to nab the gold medal in the 4x50m Freestyle Relay as Red Silvestre, Skyler Claveria, Miguel Narciso, and Alfonso Bautista registered a time of 1:38.05 ahead of Ateneo (1:39.83) and NU.

However, the Blue Eagles were in a class of their own as Aldo Batungbacal (1:05.56), Paolo Mutuc (1:06.71), and Carlo Silva (1:07.23) repeated their 50m Breaststroke performance in Day 2 with another 1-2-3 finish in the 100m Breaststroke. Batungbacal also shattered his old 1:05.78 UAAP mark established last year.

Ateneo’s two-time MVP Jessie Lacuna continued his spectacular swim by winning gold in the 200m Freestyle (1:55.81), 50m Butterfly (25.69) and 400m Individual Medley (4:38.82), hiking his total to six gold medals with one last event to swim. He leads Batungbacal in the MVP race by 21 points. Incidentally, Lacuna also relegated Batungbacal to a silver medal finish in the 400m Individual Medley (4:39.21).

The fifth gold medal of Ateneo came from rookie sensation Akiva Cariño, who conquered the 100m Backstroke in 1:01.32, edging out DLSU’s Neil Puyo (1:01.59) and Ateneo’s Brandon Sing (1:02.08).

Other medalists for the day include silver medalists from DLSU, Fahad Alkhaldi (200m Freestyle – 1:57.18) and Silvestre (50m Butterfly – 26.23), and bronze medalists Miguel Barlisan of Ateneo (200m Freestyle – 1:58.36), Andrae Pogiongko of UP (50m Butterfly – 26.42) and Alnair Guevarra of DLSU (400m Individual Medley – 4:54.66).

#ReadMore  Belen, Pepito unite for Alas Girls' AVC campaign

In the Rookie of the Year race, Barlisan and Pogiongko are tied with 36 points, but Barlisan wins the tiebreak by virtue of his individual gold medal in the 100m Freestyle. Cariño, who already has two individual gold medals (100m Backstroke and 200m Backstroke), is in third place with 30 points.

UAAP Season 80 Men’s Swimming tally after Day 3

ADMU – 402
DLSU – 235
UP – 144
UST – 59
NU – 38
UE – 17
ADU – 14

On Deck

50m Backstroke
200m Breaststroke
200m Butterfly
50m Freestyle
1500m Freestyle
4x100m Medley Relay

The final day of action resumes at the Rizal Memorial Sports Complex Swimming Pool at 3:30 in the afternoon of October 15, 2017.

Written By

Aldo is an ultimate sports enthusiast who watches and plays a multitude of sports like basketball, volleyball, swimming and water polo. His heart bleeds blue as he graduated in Jesuit institutions and is currently employed in one. Purefoods (or whatever name they call it now) in the PBA and the LA Lakers in the NBA are his favorite basketball teams.

You May Also Like


Many recognize the late Chino Trinidad for his dynamic presence as a sports commentator, his authoritative voice resonating through PBA games and the ringside...


Phillip Joaquin Santos, Marco Daos, and Rafael Barreto made sure that Ateneo de Manila University finished what has been a dominant swim in the...


University of the Philippines super rookie Quendy Fernandez featured for the Fighting Maroons in three of the five individual events, bringing home one gold...


Rian Tirol made a significant impact for Ateneo de Manila University on the second day of the UAAP Season 86 Men’s Swimming Championships on...


Ateneo de Manila University kicked off its drive for an ‘eight-peat’ in the UAAP Men’s Swimming Championships, taking home two golds, two silvers, and...


Mandaluyong Namayan scored a massive upset on Sunday at the San Andres Gymnasium in Manila, handing Taytay its first loss in the National Capital...


Ateneo de Manila University annexed a seventh consecutive title in UAAP men’s swimming after finishing strong on the final day of the Season 85...


Ateneo de Manila University pulled through still in a tight battle against De La La Salle University and University of the Philippines with 300...