Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


St. Benilde Lady Blazers, Perpetual Altas extend NCAA volleyball dynasties

College of St. Benilde and University of Perpetual Help showcased their dominance over Letran and Emilio Aguinaldo College, respectively, on Sunday to extend their dynastic reigns in the NCAA Volleyball Tournaments at the Filoil Ecooil Centre.

The Lady Blazers overwhelmed the Lady Knights, 25-18, 25-17, 25-18, securing their third consecutive 11-game title sweep, while the Altas defeated the Generals, 25-18, 25-17, 25-18, clinching a four-peat victory.

CSB also maintained an impressive streak with 40 straight victories, including seven in the pandemic-shortened NCAA Season 95 tournament.

Gayle Pascual capped her stellar collegiate career with 15 points, bringing home Finals MVP honors for the women’s side.

Wielyn Estoque added 11 points while Jade Gentapa and Michelle Gamit chipped eight points apiece, showcasing that the Lady Blazers are still levels ahead of the competition in the Grand Old League.

Clo Mondenado glued things together with 16 excellent sets.

Jerry Yee, who was named Coach of the Year for the third straight season, paid tribute to his seniors Pascual, Gamit, Gentapa, and Mondonedo.

“The seniors, napaka eager nila na tapusin yung trabaho nila. They wanted to go out with a bang. Yung mga bata naman, gusto i-replicate yung ginagwa ng mga seniors nila. Talagang sila yan,” said Yee.

Still, it was a gallant campaign for the Lady Knights, who made their first trip to the Finals in 12 years.

NCAA-99-Womens-Volleyball-Strong-Group-Letran-x-Benilde St. Benilde Lady Blazers, Perpetual Altas extend NCAA volleyball dynasties CSB CSJL EAC NCAA UPHSD  - philippine sports news

(c) SGA

Meanwhile, Jefferson Marapoc scored 18 points, while season MVP Louie Ramirez and Michael Medalla contributed 14 and 13 hits, respectively, as the Altas sealed the series in two games, completing an 11-game season sweep.

NCAA-99-Mens-Volleyball-Perpetual-champions St. Benilde Lady Blazers, Perpetual Altas extend NCAA volleyball dynasties CSB CSJL EAC NCAA UPHSD  - philippine sports news

(C) Dennis Abrina/Perpetual Help

Marapoc was later named Finals MVP, validating his readiness to fill the significant void Ramirez would leave as he played his final game in the league.

#ReadMore  NCAA 97: Gozum, St. Benilde spoil Arana's Arellano return for second win

“Sabi ko sa kanya before the game siya na papalit ke Louie,” said Perpetual coach Sammy Acaylar, who was also awarded Coach of the Year, referring to Marapoc.

The Las Pinas-based spikers delivered a dominant performance, maintaining their composure even when the Generals threatened to take a set in the third.

“Sabi ko sa team ko wag natin bigyan pa ng isang set baka tumaas morale nila tayo naman pababa ng pababa,” said Acaylar.

Earlier, College of St. Benilde’s Mondonedo was named women’s MVP as well as Best Setter.

Other awardees included San Beda’s Angel Habacon (Rookie of the Year and First Outside Spiker), Letran’s Lara Mae Silva (Libero) and Gia Maquilang (Freshman of the Year), Lyceum of the Philippines U’s Janeth Tulang (Opposite Spiker) and Hiromi Osada (First Middle Blocker), and Mapua’s Alyanna Ong (Second Middle Blocker) and Roxie dela Cruz (Second Outside Spiker).

Written By

You May Also Like


Kevin Quiambao, Kent Pastrana, Bella Belen, and Joshua Retamar will be recognized as the collegiate season’s cream of the crop at the Collegiate Press...


The Collegiate Press Corps (CPC) will honor seven of the best coaches at the collegiate level, including mentors in volleyball and women’s basketball for...


Strong Group Athletics has partnered with Zus Coffee, leading to the rebranding of its volleyball team to the Zus Coffee Thunderbelles, starting with the...


College of St. Benilde overcame early resistance from Letran before eventually dominating the match with a 25-21, 25-15, 25-14 victory yesterday, putting them on...


Beginning on Sunday, two schools from the National Collegiate Athletic Association of the Philippines will take centerstage in the epitome of a clash between...

2025 FIVB World Men’s Championship

Bryan Bagunas, Marck Espejo, and Jau Umandal will spearhead the 21-man pool of the Philippine men’s national volleyball team for the 2025 FIVB Men’s...


Choco Mucho averted disaster against Farm Fresh, escaping 25-15, 24-26, 21-25, 25-21, 15-12, in the 2024 Premier Volleyball League All-Filipino Conference at the Philsports...


In a battle of also-ran squads, Farm Fresh broke its five-game skid after sweeping sister team Strong Group, 25-10, 25-15, 25-22, in the 2024...